LP regular
LP yellow
LP red

Yoni Wolf has spent the last two decades traveling the remote sonic terrain where underground hip hop, avant-pop, and psych-rock meet. Some of Yoni’s most compelling and critically-praised musical experiments have been issued under the moniker WHY? and his latest entry is no exception. On AOKOHIO Yoni condenses the essential elements of WHY? into a stunningly potent musical vision.

Co-produced by Yoni and his brother Josiah, AOKOHIO presents a rich palette of musical voices that emerge and disappear into a constantly shifting kaleidoscope of sound. “I wanted a wide variety of sounds. I didn't want this album to sit in one sonic zone. I've always felt like too jagged of a person to be smooth in that way,” Yoni says. While the album features many notable guest contributors, from Lala Lala’s Lillie West, to Nick Sanborn and Amelia Meath of Sylvan Esso, the listener’s attention remains squarely directed on Yoni’s voice and vision. 

AOKOHIO finds Yoni rethinking fundamental aspects of his approach to creating and delivering his music. The album is presented as six movements comprised of two to four songs each, with some segments appearing as brief fragments that dissolve within seconds.

More Items Related To Why?

Why? Aokohio
  • 1.Apogee
  • 2.The Rash
  • 3.Peel Free
  • 4.Reason
  • 5.Deleterio Motilis
  • 6.Stained Glass Slipper
  • 7.The Launch
  • 8.High Dive
  • 9.Mr. Fifthsâ?? Plea
  • 10.Good Fire
  • 11.Narcissistic Lamentation
  • 12.Krevin'
  • 13.The Crippled Physician
  • 14.Ustekinumab
  • 15.My Original
  • 16.Rock Candy
  • 17.Once Shy
  • 18.The Shame
  • 19.Bloom Wither Bloom (for Mom)

Cat no: JNR302LPC2
Label: Joyful Noise Recordings
Info correct on: 25/7/2019