Ty Segall

First Taste


The new full length album from Ty Segall, following on from Freedom's Goblin.

“Our salivating makes it all taste worse,” croons Ty Segall in the first salvo of First Taste. He’s talking about us: how we’re the masters of our own destiny, tellers of our own prophecy, makers of our own sickened choices. It’s a warning, but this time, the finger is pointing back at him too. He’s one with us.

Contradictions are rife. First Taste is an introspective set after the extroversions of Freedom’s Goblin - yet just as steeped in party beats somehow, even as Ty trails through his back pages, reflecting on family, re-encountering pasts, anticipating futures. Feeling, like it was the first time, the duplexity of core truths. Lines of struggle wind through the songs. “My life is a mystery / I’d look inside but I can’t see,” as one goes - and yet, such promisingly oblique reflections act to unravel the onion, lifting the veil. Ty skates through oneness, self-esteem, the parents - all the joys of a rain-filled childhood - while reaching outward in the here and now, feeling for a shared pulse. To go on, we need to feel it.

More Items From Ty SegallSee all

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

Ty Segall First Taste
  • 1.Taste
  • 2.Whatever
  • 3.Ice Plant
  • 4.The Fall
  • 5.I Worship The Dog
  • 6.The Arms
  • 7.When I met My Parents (Part 1)
  • 8.I Sing Them
  • 9.When I met My Parents (Part 3)
  • 10.Radio
  • 11.Self Esteem
  • 12.Lone Cowboys

Item code: DC738
Label: Drag City
Info correct on: 5/6/2019