To Kill A King

The Spiritual Dark Age

LP regular
Sorry - sold out
LP purple
Sorry - sold out
This item hasn't been updated for over a year. We believe the item to be in stock, but that might not necessarily be the case.

If you need to know before ordering, contact us via @BanquetRecords on Twitter or send us an email

The third full length album from To Kill A King, they've been in Kingston a number of times and we love their folk-driven, indie-pop tunes that are full of dynamics and big hooks. Jump right on this if you're into the likes of Bastille, Of Monsters & Men or Mumford & Sons.

“The Spiritual Dark Age is the last three years of my life painstakingly distilled into 40 minutes of music,” says frontman Ralph Pelleymounter of the album. “It has ballads for my single friends watching everyone else gradually pair off, and deities and fables getting drunk in bars. It has moments of anger and disgust at characters like Peter Popoff and their parasitic feeding of the most vulnerable people, and it has folk songs about two gods who’d rather burn down the world than admit they still love each other. But hopefully, in amongst the chaos and darker tales, it has an underlying message that compassion being such a beautiful and complex thing may just save the day."

“They’ve upped their game beyond recognition….their calling card is singer Ralph Pelleymounter’s voice, a gorgeous flexible croon” - Q

"The love child of INXS, The Maccabees and The National, with everything from charming ballads to big anthems” - Shortlist

To Kill A King in the shop on Record Store Day - photo by Jez Pennington

More Items From To Kill A KingSee all

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

To Kill A King The Spiritual Dark Age
  • 1.Spiritual Dark Age
  • 2.The Unspeakable Crimes Of Peter Popoff
  • 3.Compassion Is A German Word
  • 4.Cherry Blossom Falls
  • 5.No More Love Songs
  • 6.Oh Joy
  • 7.The Good Old Days
  • 8.The One With The Jackals
  • 9.I Used To Work Here, Perhaps You Did Too?
  • 10.My God & Your God
  • 11.Bar Fights
  • 12.And Yet...

Item code: TKAK18001CD
Label: These Are My Bones
Info correct on: 15/11/2017