Bossa Nova, jazz and 60 & 70s cinematic orchestra influenced electro 

Released on their own label ESL Music, Saudade borrows its title from a Portuguese word meaning “a longing for something or someone that is lost, a contented melancholy, or, simply, the presence of absence.” “Saudade is the essence or feeling of true bossa nova,” explains Hilton, who names “those warm, soulful, melancholic vocals” as one of the elements of bossa nova that’s most alluring to him. Drawing influence from classic Brazilian performers like Antonio Carlos Jobim, Gal Costa, and Luis Bonfá—along with Serge Gainsbourg, Ennio Morricone, and more modern artists like electro-samba pioneer Isabelle Antena—Saudade achieves its delicate yet deeply sensuous sound with the help of more than a dozen guest musicians. With each track sung by one of five female vocalists (including longtime Thievery cohort LouLou Ghelichkhani, newcomer Elin Melgarejo, Nouvelle Vague singer Karina Zeviani, Argentine chanteuse Natalia Clavier, and former Bitter:Sweet singer/songwriter Shana Halligan), the endlessly mesmerizing album also features such guests as U.N.K.L.E. drummer Michael Lowery, Argentine singer/songwriter Federico Aubele, and master Brazilian percussionist Roberto Santos.

More Items From Thievery CorporationSee all

Thievery Corporation Saudade
  • 1.Decollage Feat. Lou Lou Ghelichkhani
  • 2.Meu Nego Feat. Karina Zeviani
  • 3.Quem Me Leva Feat. Elin
  • 4.Firelight Feat. Lou Lou Ghelichkhani
  • 5.Sola In Citta Feat. Elin
  • 6.No More Disguise Feat. Lou Lou Ghelichkhani
  • 7.Saudade
  • 8.Claridad Feat. Natalia Clavier
  • 9.Nos Dois Feat. Karina Zeviani
  • 10.Le Coeur Feat. Lou Lou Ghelichkhani
  • 11.Para Sempre Feat. Elin
  • 12.Bateau Rouge Feat. Lou Lou Ghelichkhani
  • 13.Depth Of My Soul Feat. Shana Halliga

Item code: ESL220
Label: ESL Music
Info correct on: 6/5/2014