The Wedding Present

George Best [National Album Day 2019]

LP green Back In Soon!
CD (George Best Plus)

Notify me when this item is released / available

This item hasn't been updated for over a year. We believe the item to be available, but that might not necessarily be the case.

If you need to know before ordering, contact us via @BanquetRecords on Twitter or send us an email shop@banquetrecords.com.

A reissue of a classic record from The Wedding Present to celebrate National Album Day 2019.

Reflecting on the impact of their debut album frontman David Gedge explains; “George Best will obviously always hold a special place in my heart because it’s the first album I recorded. All those years of playing my parents’ LPs and then creating my own record collection - all the time dreaming about being in a band myself - were essentially building to the moment when George Best was released. And, although I think The Wedding Present have made better albums since, there’s no denying that there’s spirit and passion and ambition running through these tracks. It wasn’t particularly planned, but I think the efforts of the four people in the group combined to create a unique and original sound. And it was always going to be a ‘Peel’ album because we were such passionate followers of that programme... even though the ardent Liverpool F.C. supporter could hardly bring himself to announce the title on his show - If you’re going to name your record after old footballers, why not Steve Heighway?” he complained.

More Items From The Wedding PresentSee all

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

The Wedding Present George Best [National Album Day 2019]
  • LP green Back In Soon!
  • 1.Everyone Thinks He Looks Daft
  • 2.What Did Your Last Servant Die Of?
  • 3.Don't Be So Hard
  • 4.A Million Miles
  • 5.All This And More
  • 6.My Favourite Dress
  • 7.Shatner
  • 8.Something And Nothing
  • 9.It's What You Want That Matters
  • 10.Give My Love To Kevin
  • 11.Anyone Can Make A Mistake
  • 12.You Can't Moan Can You?
  • CD (George Best Plus)
  • 13.All About Eve
  • 14.Getting Nowhere Fast
  • 15.Nobody's Twisting Your Arm
  • 16.Nothing Comes Easy
  • 17.Don't Laugh
  • 18.I'm Not Always So Stupid
  • 19.Why Are You Being So Reasonable Now?
  • 20.Not From Where I'm Standing
  • 21.Give My Love To Kevin (Acoustic Version)
  • 22.Getting Better
  • 23.Pourquoi Es Tu Devenue Si Raisonnable?

Item code: PIASR455LP
Label: Play It Again Sam
Info correct on: 12/9/2019