The Streets

A Grand Don't Come For Free (vinyl)

Double LP red
Double LP

Re-press of Mike Skinner's highly praised second album as The Streets, a massive and influential album in the UK hip-hop / garage scene with isightful and observational lyrics about the everyday life.

This was the album that saw Skinner compared to the likes of Ray Davies and Paul Weller in evoking the glorious mess of everyday life. A striking concept album set to an inventive sonic backdrop, the seemingly prosaic tale of a young man unlucky in love (and, so it seems, money) is brought brilliantly to life in a barrage of astute lyrics, lurid tales and memorable hooks. Deservedly awarded a 9.1 review from Pitchfork, the record sees Skinner reveal his most vulnerable self: Dry Your Eyes and Blinded By The Lights, in particular, manage to articulate painfully familiar feelings that appeal to music fans of every hue. This record marked Skinner’s creative peak, received international acclaim and, thanks to its distinctiveness, propelled its maker to the top of the musical tree.

More Items From The StreetsSee all

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

The Streets A Grand Don't Come For Free (vinyl)
  • 1.It Was Supposed To Be So Easy
  • 2.Could Well Be In
  • 3.Not Addicted
  • 4.Blinded By The Lights
  • 5.Wouldn't Have It Any Other Way
  • 6.Get Out Of My House
  • 7.Fit But You Know It
  • 8.Such A Twat
  • 9.What Is He Thinking?
  • 10.Dry Your Eyes
  • 11.Empty Cans

Item code: BEWITH002LP
Info correct on: 24/4/2020