The Shins

The Worm's Heart

This item hasn't been updated for over a year. We believe the item to be in stock, but that might not necessarily be the case.

If you need to know before ordering, contact us via @BanquetRecords on Twitter or send us an email shop@banquetrecords.com.

The fifth studio album from the awesome American indie-band The Shins gets a 'flipped' release, the songs have been re-worked and re-created to make the slower, mellow ones punchy and rocky, and the faster ones slowed down and intimate, demonstrating the band's songwriting ability.

What began as an exercise in songwriting transformed into a commentary on what it means to be a songwriter. After writing the first track for Heartworms (released 10 March 2017), James Mercer decided to recreate each song from scratch. Driven by its malleability, its ability to be foundationally identical, yet aesthetically and sonically utterly new, Mercer continued experimenting until he had two complete albums: one original and one “flipped”.

Mercer’s ability to create two totally divergent albums from the same underlying compositions not only highlights his immense capability as a songwriter, but also functions as a reminder of what it means to be an artist, how an artist acts as both the master and facilitator of his artistic product.

More Items From The ShinsSee all

The Shins The Worm's Heart
  • 1.The Fear (Flipped)
  • 2.So Now What (Flipped)
  • 3.Heartworms (Flipped)
  • 4.Dead Alive (Flipped)
  • 5.Half a Million (Flipped)
  • 6.Rubber Ballz (Flipped)
  • 7.Mildenhall (Flipped)
  • 8.Fantasy Island (Flipped)
  • 9.Cherry Hearts (Flipped)
  • 10.Painting a Hole (Flipped)
  • 11.Name For You (Flipped)

Cat no: 88985494702
Label: Columbia
Info correct on: 16/12/2017