The Magic Gang

Death Of The Party

LP clear

LP is on 'clear' vinyl.

The second full length album from the acclaimed indie-slacker-poppers The Magic Gang, following on from their 2018 self-titled record.

The quartet approached the album with two objectives in mind. They aimed to broaden the scope of their harmony-rich, melodically focused pop. And inspired by Lou Reed, Alex Turner and especially Jonathan Richman they wanted to take a more observational lyrical approach.

The stories they tell reflect the experiences of many of their early-twentysomething contemporaries. They explore anxieties about money, relationships and the future, but also the fun moments that they use to escape from such issues. Two songs – Jack Kaye’s ‘Make A Sound’ and Kristian Smith’s title track – best encapsulate their flair for a narrative, with two radically different perspectives on a New Year’s Eve party. Meanwhile, the album closer ‘(The World) Outside My Door’ explores Jack’s guilt at writing music while the Extinction Rebellion protests were hitting the streets.

The album also finds The Magic Gang evolving their sound without losing what people loved them for in the first place. There are elements of disco in ‘Take Back The Track’ and ‘Make A Sound’, ‘Gonna Bounce Back’ hits somewhere between slacker rock and post-punk, while the piano, strings and vocal harmonies on ‘I Am Sunshine’ recalls their love of Brian Wilson and The Beach Boys.

More Items Related To The Magic Gang

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

The Magic Gang Death Of The Party
  • 1.Intro
  • 2.Think
  • 3.Make a Sound
  • 4.Just a minute
  • 5.What Have You Got To Lose
  • 6.Death of The Party
  • 7.Take Back The Track
  • 8.I Am Sunshine
  • 9.Gonna Bounce Back
  • 10.Fail Better
  • 11.(The World) Outside My Door

Item code: 0190295259587
Label: Warner Records
Info correct on: 29/8/2020