The Everly Brothers

Songs Our Daddy Taught Us

LP red

The blending of Don and Phil Everly’s voices is truly one of the great sounds of post-war American popular music. Recorded for the Cadence label in Nashville in 1958, their second album “Songs Our Daddy Taught Us” could be termed an early concept album. The twelve songs (none of which were hits) were Old School country – as the title says, songs known to Don and Phil’s father – which celebrated the timeless quality of the music in an era when such celebrations might have been regarded as a retrograde step. It also anticipates the US Folk Revival that was soon to come.

Don Everly explained why they chose to record the album: "I knew we would be leaving Cadence, and I wanted the last album to be something musically that I loved, but I didn't want them to have any possible singles which they would have kept releasing (to) interfere with our career. I suggested ‘Songs Our Daddy Taught Us’, and everyone went for it. It touched what folk music ought to be – country folk music, songs people would sing sitting on the porch. It's got class and it ages really well." In 2013, Green Day front man Billy Joe Armstrong teamed up with Norah Jones to re- record ‘Songs Our Daddy Taught Us’, released under the title Foreverly, highlighting the generation- spanning appeal of these songs.

Issued in a faithful reproduction of the original LP sleeve, the inner sleeve features annotation by Alan Robinson. The record is pressed on 180 gram red vinyl.

More Items From The Everly BrothersSee all

The Everly Brothers Songs Our Daddy Taught Us
  • 1.Roving Gambler
  • 2.Down In The Willow Garden
  • 3.Long Time Gone
  • 4.Lightning Express
  • 5.That Silver Haired Daddy Of Mine
  • 6.Who's Gonna Shoe Your Pretty Little Feet
  • 7.Barbara Allen
  • 8.Oh So Many Years
  • 9.I'm Here To Get My Baby Out Of Jail
  • 10.Rockin' Alone (In An Old Rockin' Chair)
  • 11.Kentucky
  • 12.Put My Little Shoes Away

Item code: DEMREC620
Label: Demon Records
Info correct on: 21/1/2020