The Divine Comedy

Victory for the Comic Muse

2 CD

In 1990 Neil Hannon started recording and releasing under the name The Divine Comedy. Thirty years and twelve great albums later, Hannon is rightly adjudged one of the finest singer songwriters of his generation. To celebrate, Divine Comedy Records are remastering and reissuing nine of the band's classic albums.

Victory For The Comic Muse was first released in 2006. Recorded virtually live in the studio over a two-week period, 'Victory...’ showcased Neil's restless creativity and his flair for observation and narrative. Pitchfork said, "These songs set lofty goals, and realize them" while The Guardian called it a “triumphant comeback” and Spin declared "[Hannon] deserves to be recognized as the unsung genius of symphonic pop."  Singles from the album include To Die A Virgin, Diva Lady and live favourite A Lady Of A Certain Age.

The CD release consists of 2 discs: the original remastered album, with a second CD of B-sides, demos and alternate versions lovingly curated by Neil Hannon, much of which has never been heard before. The CD comes with a booklet of photos, credits and extensive liner notes written by Neil covering the context and inspiration behind the album and its songs.

The LP release consists of the original remastered album, cut at Abbey Road, packaged with a download code for the album and bonus tracks. The LP is heavyweight black vinyl in a gatefold sleeve accompanied with photos, credits and Neil's liner notes.

More Items From The Divine ComedySee all

The Divine Comedy Victory for the Comic Muse
  • 1.To Die a Virgin [3:39]
  • 2.Mother Dear [3:47]
  • 3.Diva Lady [4:17]
  • 4.A Lady of a Certain Age [5:47]
  • 5.The Light of Day [4:24]
  • 6.Threesome [1:10]
  • 7.Party Fears Two [4:02]
  • 8.Arthur C. Clarke’s Mysterious World [3:58]
  • 9.The Plough [5:14]
  • 10.Count Grassi’s Passage Over Piedmont [3:32]
  • 11.Snowball in Negative [4:40]

Item code: DCRL090RCD
Label: Divine Comedy Records
Info correct on: 18/3/2020