The Divine Comedy


2 CD

In 1990 Neil Hannon started recording and releasing under the name The Divine Comedy. Thirty years and twelve great albums later, Hannon is rightly adjudged one of the finest singer songwriters of his generation. To celebrate, Divine Comedy Records are remastering and reissuing nine of the band's classic albums.

Regeneration was originally released in 2001. Recorded with Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich, the album was a more stripped back, guitar-oriented affair, and a big break with their trademark orchestral sound. The Observer said: "Regeneration marks, for Hannon, a personal and musical breakthrough". Time Out said: "Hannon has finally created an album as complete and deftly wondrous as you suspected he was capable of; every track shines with a love for music." The Times said "A subtle collection of gorgeous pop songs. Combining the lyrical dexterity of old with some spectacular melodies, this is an album that lives up to the promise of its title". Key tracks from the album include singles Love What You Do, Bad Ambassador and Perfect Lovesong.

The CD release consists of 2 discs: the original remastered album, with a second CD of b-sides, demos and alternate versions lovingly curated by Neil Hannon, much of which has never been heard before. The CD comes with a booklet of photos, credits and extensive liner notes written by Neil covering the context and inspiration behind the album and its songs.

The LP release consists of the original remastered album, cut at Abbey Road, packaged with a download code for the album and bonus tracks. The LP is heavyweight black vinyl in a gatefold sleeve accompanied with photos, credits and Neil's liner notes.

More Items From The Divine ComedySee all

The Divine Comedy Regeneration
  • 1.Timestretched [2:48]
  • 2.Bad Ambassador [3:45]
  • 3.Perfect Lovesong [3:10]
  • 4.Note to Self [5:59]
  • 5.Lost Property [4:39]
  • 6.Eye of the Needle [5:33]
  • 7.Love What You Do [3:52]
  • 8.Dumb It Down [3:56]
  • 9.Mastermind [5:21]
  • 10.Regeneration [5:33]
  • 11.The Beauty Regime [5:11]

Item code: DCRL070RCD
Label: Divine Comedy Records
Info correct on: 18/3/2020