The Divine Comedy

Fin De Siècle

2 CD

Notify me when this item is released / available

Expected 21st August 2020

In 1990 Neil Hannon started recording and releasing under the name The Divine Comedy. Thirty years and twelve great albums later, Hannon is rightly adjudged one of the finest singer songwriters of his generation. To celebrate, Divine Comedy Records are remastering and reissuing nine of the band's classic albums.

Fin de Siècle was first released in 1998. Chock full of millennial angst, it was the band's most ambitious album to date. Time Out described it as "A huge, extraordinary record – a concept album even, picking at the scabs of twentieth century existence.. quintessential pop music." Metro said "Fin de Siècle ...is dangerously close to being a masterpiece.. funny, sad, melodically compelling and obsessed with the themes of numbness, death and public transport." Neil McCormick in the Telegraph said "Neil Hannon is one of the most prodigiously talented individuals working in the world of pop... The range of Hannon’s songwriting is simply unmatched by any of his contemporaries." The album charted at number 9, but it was the third single from the album, National Express, that provided The Divine Comedy with their first top ten single. Other stand out tracks from the album include Generation Sex, The Certainty Of Chance and Sunrise.

The CD release consists of 2 discs: the original remastered album, with a second CD of B-sides, demos and alternate versions lovingly curated by Neil Hannon, much of which has never been heard before. The CD comes with a booklet of photos, credits and extensive liner notes written by Neil covering the context and inspiration behind the album and its songs.

The LP release consists of the original remastered album, cut at Abbey Road, packaged with a download code for the album and bonus tracks. The LP is heavyweight black vinyl in a gatefold sleeve accompanied with photos, credits and Neil's liner notes.

More Items From The Divine ComedySee all

The Divine Comedy Fin De Siècle
DCRL057RCD.png Pre-Order
  • 1.Generation Sex [3:31]
  • 2.Thrillseeker [3:33]
  • 3.Commuter Love [4:42]
  • 4.Sweden [3:25]
  • 5.Eric the Gardener [8:26]
  • 6.National Express [5:05]
  • 7.Life on Earth [4:23]
  • 8.The Certainty of Chance [6:06]
  • 9.Here Comes the Flood [4:09]
  • 10.Sunrise [3:18]

Item code: DCRL057RCD
Label: Divine Comedy Records
Info correct on: 18/3/2020