The Divine Comedy

Bang Goes The Knighthood

2 CD
LP Back In Soon!

Notify me when this item is released / available

In 1990 Neil Hannon started recording and releasing under the name The Divine Comedy. Thirty years and twelve great albums later, Hannon is rightly adjudged one of the finest singer songwriters of his generation. To celebrate, Divine Comedy Records are remastering and reissuing nine of the band's classic albums.

Bang Goes The Knighthood was first released in 2010. Written in the aftermath of the 2008 financial crisis, Bang.. took an acerbic look into the lives of the rich and powerful, and their impact on the rest of us “down in the street below.” It was described in the Sunday Times as "a collection worthy of Randy Newman at his best" while Pitchfork said, "Neil Hannon continues to quietly and effectively operate his own one-man niche, thanks to impeccable arrangements and tightrope-walking songwriting." Includes the singles At The Indie Disco and I Like, and live favourites Assume The Perpendicular and The Complete Banker.

The CD release consists of 2 discs: the original remastered album, with a second CD of B-sides, demos and alternate versions lovingly curated by Neil Hannon, much of which has never been heard before. The CD comes with a booklet of photos, credits and extensive liner notes written by Neil covering the context and inspiration behind the album and its songs.

The LP release consists of the original remastered album, cut at Abbey Road, packaged with a download code for the album and bonus tracks. The LP is heavyweight black vinyl in a gatefold sleeve accompanied with photos, credits and Neil's liner notes.

More Items From The Divine ComedySee all

The Divine Comedy Bang Goes The Knighthood
  • 1.Down in the Street Below [5:08]
  • 2.The Complete Banker [3:43]
  • 3.Neapolitan Girl [2:49]
  • 4.Bang Goes the Knighthood [2:48]
  • 5.At the Indie Disco [3:18]
  • 6.Have You Ever Been in Love [3:10]
  • 7.Assume the Perpendicular [4:06]
  • 8.The Lost Art of Conversation [4:01]
  • 9.Island Life [4:38]
  • 10.When a Man Cries [3:54]
  • 11.Can You Stand Upon One Leg [3:32]
  • 12.I Like [3:48]

Item code: DCRL101RCD
Label: Divine Comedy
Info correct on: 18/3/2020