The Complete Obscure Records Collection

Various Artists

10 CD Boxset
10 LP Boxset

10 CD Boxset: usually dispatched next working day

Originally issued between 1975 and 1978, nearly 50 years on the output of Obscure remains radically forward-thinking - offering glimpses of a future yet to be fully seen - and amounts to one of the most important, influential, and creatively accomplished album series ever conceived.

Co-curated by Eno and the composers Gavin Bryars and Michael Nyman - issuing the recording debuts of Bryars, Nyman, John Adams, Christopher Hobbs, David Toop, Max Eastley, Jan Steele, Simon Jeffes / The Penguin Café Orchestra, and Harold Budd, in addition to important works by John Cage, Tom Phillips, and John White - Obscure’s collective output is a groundbreaking landmark in the histories of Minimalism, modern composition, and Experimental music, and laid much of the groundwork for the soon to emerge movement of Ambient music.

Illuminating the remarkable, and largely otherwise undocumented, creative ferment within and between the British and American scenes of experimental music during the mid to late 1970s, this collection - made in full collaboration with all of the composers or their estates - contains the entire 10 album output of Obscure, the majority of which have been out of print for years, with a number having never received a CD reissue.

Offering each of Obscure’s albums, completely remastered and housed in faithful replicas of their original covers and liner notes, as well as a 130-page booklet for CD-BOX SET and 80-page book (LP dimension) for LP-BOX SET, filled with rare photos, archival material and texts by - among others - Gavin Bryars, Bradford Bailey, David Toop, Max Eastley, Richard Bernas, and Tom Recchion, this historic collection marks the first time this seminal series has received a complete CD and LP repress.

The Complete Obscure Records Collection Various Artists
  • 1.The Sinking of the Titanic - Gavin Bryars
  • 2.Jesus Blood Never Failed Me Yet - Gavin Bryars
  • 3.Aran - Christopher Hobbs
  • 4.American Standard - (i) John Philip Sousa - John Adams
  • 5.American Standard - (ii) Christian Zeal and Activity - John Adams
  • 6.American Standard - (iii) Sentimentals - John Adams
  • 7.McCrimmon Will Never Return - Christopher Hobbs
  • 8.Gavin Bryars
  • 9.Discreet Music - Brian Eno
  • 10.Fullness of the Wind - Brian Eno
  • 11.French Catalogues - Brian Eno
  • 12.Brutal Ardour - Brian Eno
  • 13.Hydrophone - Max Eastley
  • 14.Metallophone - Max Eastley
  • 15.The Centriphone - Max Eastley
  • 16.Elastic Aerophone - Centriphone - Max Eastley
  • 17.Do the Bathosphere - David Toop
  • 18.The Divination of the Bowhead Whale - David Toop
  • 19.The Chairs Story - David Toop
  • 20.All Day - Jan Steele
  • 21.Distant Saxophones - Jan Steele
  • 22.Rhapsody Spaniel - Jan Steele
  • 23.Experiences No 1 - John Cage
  • 24.Experiences No 2 - John Cage
  • 25.The Wonderful Widow of Eighteen Springs - John Cage
  • 26.Forever and Sunsmell - John Cage
  • 27.In a Landscape - John Cage
  • 28.Michael Nyman
  • 29.Bell Set No 1 - Michael Nyman
  • 30.Penguin Cafe Single - Penguin Cafe Orchestra
  • 31.From The Colonies - Penguin Cafe Orchestra
  • 32.In A Sydney Motel - Penguin Cafe Orchestra
  • 33.Surface Tension - Penguin Cafe Orchestra
  • 34.Milk - Penguin Cafe Orchestra
  • 35.Coronation - Penguin Cafe Orchestra
  • 36.Giles Farnabys Dream - Penguin Cafe Orchestra
  • 37.Pigtail - Penguin Cafe Orchestra
  • 38.The Sound of Someone You Love Whos Going Away and it Doesnt Matter - Penguin Cafe Orchestra
  • 39.Hugebaby - Peguin Cafe Orchestra
  • 40.Chartered Flight - Peguin Cafe Orchestra
  • 41.Autumn Countdown Machine - John White
  • 42.Son of Gothic Chord - John White
  • 43.Jews Harp Machine - John White
  • 44.Drinking and Hooting Machine - John White
  • 45.The Squirrel and the Ricketty Racketty Bridge - Gavin Bryars
  • 46.Introduction - Tom Phillips Gavin Bryars Fred Orton
  • 47.Overture - Tom Phillips Gavin Bryars Fred Orton
  • 48.Aria - I Tell You Thats Irma Herself - Tom Phillips Gavin Bryars Fred Orton
  • 49.First Interlude - Tom Phillips Gavin Bryars Fred Orton
  • 50.Aria - Irma You Will Be Mine - Tom Phillips Gavin Bryars Fred Orton
  • 51.Second Interlude - Tom Phillips Gavin Bryars Fred Orton
  • 52.Chorus - Love Is Help Mate - Tom Phillips Gavin Bryars Fred Orton
  • 53.Postlude - Tom Phillips Gavin Bryars Fred Orton
  • 54.Bismillahi Rrahmani Rrahim - Harold Budd
  • 55.Two Songs - Harold Budd
  • 56.Madrigals of the Rose Angel - Harold Budd
  • 57.Juno - Harold Budd

Item code: DIACD926BOX
Label: Dialogo
Info correct on: 6/12/2023