Sunset Graves

The Inevitable End

This item hasn't been updated for over a year. We believe the item to be in stock, but that might not necessarily be the case.

If you need to know before ordering, contact us via @BanquetRecords on Twitter or send us an email

Sunset Graves on ‘The Inevitable End’:

“I had this thought: would it be possible to create an album using a really small palette of sound? I don’t choose when to write a record, it chooses me. And when I felt this one coming on, I knew that it needed to be nothing like any of my previous work. Things had changed, and my music needed to reflect that. So I started to layout my tools: synths, drums, samples and field recordings. The only rule was that I would use these, and only these, but I could process and add effects to them in any way I chose.

I wanted to find detail by smashing drum elements into grains and coercing them back into shapes and patterns. I wanted to create texture by applying filters and stacks of EQ and reverb to synths. I wanted to give the album depth and life by recording sounds of the environment around me. The first drums you hear on ‘Lovr’ are an iPhone recording of me tapping the steel girder of a railway bridge. The road that never sleeps outside my home is the bed on which ‘Solace’ lies. By processing, stretching, crushing and pushing, finding elements and artifacts and using them as new starting points, an eco system of sound began to form, and the album exists within that. However, I also wanted the album to have a heart and resonate emotionally. And I wanted it to sound huge.”

Sunset Graves The Inevitable End
  • 1.Lovr
  • 2.Reducifier
  • 3.Descents
  • 4.Threads
  • 5.Solace
  • 6.Crepuscular
  • 7.Savagery
  • 8.Capitals
  • 9.Woke (bonus track)

Cat no: SOS019
Label: Spun Out Of Control
Info correct on: 2/3/2018