Sunny Side Up

Various Artists

LP regular
LP magenta - Indies Exclusive
This item hasn't been updated for over a year. We believe the item to be in stock, but that might not necessarily be the case.

If you need to know before ordering, contact us via @BanquetRecords on Twitter or send us an email

Indies exclusive LP is on 'magenta' coloured vinyl.

A heavy new compilation from Brownswood shines a light on the independent underground in Melbourne, where a close-knit collection of artists have taken cues from soul, jazz and club culture to carve out a fresh Melbournian sound. Featuring nine different groups, many of them sharing members and studios, the record surveys the musical contours of this bubbling scene, nodding to house, broken beat, samba, p-funk and soul.

Recorded over a week at The Grove, a fabled house-cum-studio in the North Melbourne suburb of Coburg, it’s home to the record’s engineer, Nick Herrera, and two members of Hiatus Kaiyote, the city’s breakout gangster-soul dons with whom many of the record’s personnel have collaborated. Silentjay was musical director, the Rhythm Section-affiliated multi instrumentalist and producer (who’s played with Joey Bada$$ and Flying Lotus) marshalling together the album’s different players, many of them part of influential collectives 30/70 and Mandarin Dreams.

Nurtured in the city’s collaborative, close-knit confines, the scene has been bubbling up under the radar of Australian music institutions, in the garages and makeshift studios of Melbourne’s suburban sprawl. Sunny Side Up is a colourful portrait of the scene’s potential, exploring the story behind this flourishing period and shining light on some of its most compelling figures.

Sunny Side Up Various Artists
  • 1.Phil Stroud - Banksia
  • 2.Dufresne - Pick Up / Galaxy
  • 3.Kuzich - There Is No Time
  • 4.Audrey Powne - Bleeding Hearts
  • 5.Zeitgeist Freedom Energy Exchange - Powers 2 (The People)
  • 6.Laneous - Nice To See You
  • 7.Silentjay - Eternal / Internal Peace
  • 8.Horatio Luna - The Wake-Up
  • 9.Allysha Joy - Orbit

Item code: BWOOD205CD
Label: Brownswood
Info correct on: 11/6/2019