Sufjan Stevens / Angelo De Augustine

A Beginner's Mind

LP regular
LP 'Emerald City' green - Indies Exclusive

Most recently dispatched: 2 December

Indies exclusive LP is on 'green' coloured vinyl.

It’s been said that writing about music is like dancing about architecture (impossible and absurd). But what about singing about movies?

Sufjan Stevens and Angelo De Augustine have paired up for a collaborative project that does just that. A Beginner’s Mind is their debut album that contains 14 songs (loosely) based on (mostly) popular films. The source material is highbrow, lowbrow, and everything in between. The music is folksy, sweet, sincere and harmonically effervescent—Simon and Garfunkel with New Age flourishes. This album runs the gamut and has fun with it, even while its songwriters remain fully rooted in the melancholy folk idioms they are known for.

Daniel Anum Jasper, a pioneer of Ghanian movie poster painting, was commissioned to paint a series of new works for A Beginner’s Mind. His paintings are a graphic simulacrum for the same sense of wonder, wordplay, and intrigue that shape A Beginner’s Mind. By transforming old films into vital new songs, Stevens and De Augustine ask us to consider ourselves from a previously unconsidered vantage point—a new way of seeing and hearing—an exercise that’s as necessary and relevant now as it’s ever been.

More Items From Sufjan Stevens / Angelo De AugustineSee all

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

Sufjan Stevens / Angelo De Augustine A Beginner's Mind
  • 1.Reach Out 03:43
  • 2.Lady Macbeth In Chains 03:42
  • 3.Back To Oz 04:12
  • 4.The Pillar Of Souls 03:10
  • 5.You Give Death A Bad Name 04:07
  • 6.Beginner's Mind 02:15
  • 7.Olympus 03:07
  • 8.Murder And Crime 03:30
  • 9.(This Is) The Thing 02:48
  • 10.It's Your Own Body And Mind 02:27
  • 11.Lost In The World 03:10
  • 12.Fictional California 02:50
  • 13.Cimmerian Shade 04:19
  • 14.Lacrimae 02:07

Item code: AKR143CD
Label: Asthmatic Kitty Records
Info correct on: 2/12/2021