South Bronx Hip Hop Classics: B Boy Records

Various Artists

Double LP

B Boy Records was a significant player in the development of hip-hop in the 1980s, but a very short lived label shrouded in mystery.

This double LP selects the best of the independent label, from the beginning of the label to including past icons and future legends, hard-hitting drum programming, synthesize and sampled beats overlaid with fierce battle rap swagger. This is a snapshot of hip-hop history.

The label is best known for issuing the hugely influential Boogie Down Productions LP Criminal Minded, which is included twice on this release with ‘The Bridge Is Over’ and ‘South Brox’

Other highlights include JVC Force’s enduring classic ‘Strong Island’, DJ Scott La Rock (founding member of BDP) & D-Nic and all-female rap Sparky D, 5 Star Moet

The double vinyl LP packs in 16 tracks, presented on 180g heavyweight classic black vinyl with printed inner sleeves

South Bronx Hip Hop Classics: B Boy Records Various Artists
  • 1.J.V.C. Force - Strong Island
  • 2.Boogie Down Productions - South Bronx (Truth Version)
  • 3.Soul Dimension - Can't Get Enough
  • 4.Tall, Dark & Handsome - Call It What You Wanna
  • 5.Boogie Down Productions - The Bridge Is Over (Vocal Mix)
  • 6.K.D. Nice - Get Up (Vocal)
  • 7.DJ M.A.T.E. and the Latin MC's - Let's Jam
  • 8.K-Bee & Ceil-B - Who Am I?
  • 9.D.J. Scott La Rock & D-Nice - Scott Made Me Funky
  • 10.Positive Image - Serious Business
  • 11.Money Earnin Crew - Stars Are Shinin
  • 12.Star Moet - Let Me Love You
  • 13.Busy Boys - That's The Flavor
  • 14.Sparky D - Throwdown
  • 15.Volt's - 991 Volt's of Noise (Vocal)
  • 16.Spicey Ham - Sex, Sex & More Sex

Item code: DEMREC514
Label: Demon Records
Info correct on: 2/12/2019


Hip Hop