Soft Cell

Northern Lights / Guilty (Cos I Say You Are)


Recorded during Spring 2018 as Marc and Dave collaborated on the tracklist for their career box set, ‘Northern Lights’ and ‘Guilty (Cos I Say You Are)’ represent the first new music from the ever-fascinating Soft Cell. This limited edition double-A-sided 7”  single features special radio edits created by Dave Ball.

Paying tribute to the Northern Soul scene which had such a pivotal influence on British electronica’s most influential and fascinating band, ‘Northern Lights’ is the brand-new single from Soft Cell – their first since 2002.

Featuring all the magic and class of vintage Soft Cell, the track has an interesting origin. At the beginning of 2018 Marc Almond and Dave Ball dropped the bombshell announcement that they would reform for one night only at London’s O2 Arena. In April it was also revealed that the September 30th gig would be preceded on September 7th by a 10-disc career retrospective box set, titled ‘Keychains & Snowstorms’.

In the process of sourcing archive material for the box set, Dave shared with Marc two new pieces of music, and suitably inspired, Marc began working on lyrics for them. Due to long lead manufacturing times for box sets, neither ‘Northern Lights’ nor its companion ‘Guilty (Cos I Say You Are)’ was ready in time to make the tracklisting. Instead, however, both will form part of the 1CD collection, ‘The Singles – Keychains & Snowstorms’, which will be released on September 28th alongside all the classics such as ‘Tainted Love’, ‘Say Hello Wave Goodbye’ and ‘Torch’.

More Items From Soft CellSee all

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

Soft Cell Northern Lights / Guilty (Cos I Say You Are)
  • 1.Northern Lights
  • 2.Guilty (Cos I Say You Are)

Cat no: 6791665
Info correct on: 22/8/2018