Slum Village

Fan-Tas-Tic Vol 1

Double LP

Most recently dispatched: 15 September

LP reissue of Fan-Tas-Tic Vol 1 by Slum Village the trio of J Dilla, T3 and Baatin

A founding member of the trio, (Alongside rappers T3 and Baatin) Dilla provided the group's distinctly esoteric, free-wheeling sound, built around winding basslines, quirky drumbeats, subtle low-end frequencies, and classic jazz & soul samples. Against the backdrop of Dilla's rich production, T3 and Baatin's free-flowing style of rhyming would also earn wide critical praise, leading to comparisons as the successors to A Tribe Called Quest. (A label they themselves have rejected.) It's on Slum Village's 1997 studio debut, Fan-Tas-Tic Vol. 1, that all these elements come together in the most proficient manner. An instant hit among Detroit's underground hip-hop scene, the album seemed to combine all the best elements of the reigning alternative and gangsta styles of hip-hop into one cohesive style that was a hit among critics. Fan-Tas-Tic's influence extended far beyond Detroit, as its sound heavily influenced the sounds of D'Angelo, Erykah Badu, and The Roots just to name a few. 

More Items From Slum VillageSee all

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

Slum Village Fan-Tas-Tic Vol 1
  • 1.Fantastic
  • 2.Keep It On (This Beat)
  • 3.I Don't Know
  • 4.How We Bullshit
  • 5.Fat Cat Song (feat. Phat Kat)
  • 5.Ela (Remix)
  • 6.The Look Of Love
  • 7.Estimate
  • 8.Hoc N Pucky
  • 9.Beej N Dem
  • 10.Pregnant
  • 11.Forth & Back
  • 12.Fantastic 2 (Interlude)
  • 13.Fantastic 3 (Interlude)
  • 14.Keep It On
  • 16.Give This Nigga
  • 17.Players
  • 18.Look Of Love (Remix)
  • 19.Pregnant (Remix)
  • 20.Things U Do (Remix)
  • 21.Fat Cat (Remix)
  • 22.Fantastic 4 (Interlude)
  • 23.What's Love Got To Do With It (Look Of Love Remix)
  • 24.2 You 4 You

Item code: NMG5762LP
Label: Ne'astra Music Group
Info correct on: 2/8/2021


Hip Hop