Dreaming is Dead Now


On “Dreaming Is Dead Now”, multi-talented wonder Skinny Pelembe meditates on grief, heartache, stunted aspirations and fresh possibilities in post-recession Britain. For his debut album, the Johannesburg-born, Doncaster-raised artist weaves together a patchwork of personal and musical touchstones; memories and observations are dreamily laced together, sun dazzled California folk diced with the murkier corners of the UK dance lineage.

Tipping a hat to West London broken beat as much as My Bloody Valentine, the album was co-produced by Malcolm Catto (of The Heliocentrics, who’s previously worked with Yussef Kamaal, DJ Shadow, and Madlib), who helped to distil down its bounty of ingredients into the record’s distinctive flavour. Tough, tight-programmed rhythms are washed over with fuzzy overtures, and the title track is the product of a studio session with a foundational drum & bass duo (credited under the covert alias of The Bleeding Edge). It’s the rare kind of record where the messy, in-between musical spaces are given a light to shine.

More Items Related To SKINNY PELEMBE

SKINNY PELEMBE Dreaming is Dead Now
  • 1.Gonna Buy A Car Today
  • 2.No Blacks, No Dogs, No Irish (Extended Mix)
  • 3.Dreaming Is Dead Now
  • 4.Spit/Swallow
  • 5.Without A Doubtful Shadow
  • 6.My Love Is Burning, Down
  • 7.Ten Four, Good Friend
  • 8.I'll Be On Your Mind
  • 9.Laxmi Flying
  • 10.Blood Relation

Cat no: BWOOD193CD
Label: Brownswood Recordings
Info correct on: 25/4/2019