Silver Moth

Black Bay

LP clear
LP + Signed Art Print black/white/swirl Dinked Edition
0 left
Sorry - sold out

Notify me when this item is released / available

CD: usually dispatched next working day

LP + Signed Art Print black/white/swirl Dinked Edition: these are limited to 1 per customer

"Dinked Edition" is on 180g 'silver' coloured. Includes an exclusive fold-out 18" x 24" poster, an insert and an OBI-strip. /500. For avoidance of doubt, the centre is a standard spindle size, and not dinked.

A leap of faith reaps extraordinary rewards on ‘Black Bay’, an album of depth, atmosphere and daring from the collective known as Silver Moth. Recorded under unusual circumstances, ‘Black Bay’ is the sound of seven storied musicians yielding to shared goals, a policy of trust in action. Between hushed incantations and molten guitars, 15-minute noise-rock epics and healing psalms, the record is a testament to connectivity and receptivity: to a union of disparate minds committing to something greater than the sum of its parts.

Stuart Braithwaite of Mogwai, Elisabeth Elektra, Evi Vine, Steven Hill, members of Abrasive Trees, Burning House and Prosthetic Head convened to improvise the album in early 2021, inspired by a Twitter exchange between Abrasive Trees guitarist/songwriter Matthew Rochford, musician Elisabeth Elektra and fellow artist Nick Hudson about the Isle of Lewis. A couple of Zoom meetings would subsequently lead to Rochford, Elektra, Vine, Braithwaite, Hill, drummer Ash Babb and cellist Ben Roberts visiting the dramatic location of Great Bernera’s Black Bay Studios on the Isle of Lewis in the Outer Hebrides, where they tracked the songs in just four days: a testament to the musicians’ focused openness to their shared mission and environment.

This is an album of elemental force and evocative poise, its controlled power focused around the ego-free chemistry between the players. By abandoning all certainties, Silver Moth have found something truly special on ‘Black Bay’.

Silver Moth is...

Ash Babb - drummer in Burning House/Academy of Sun

Stuart Braithwaite - Mogwai/Minor Victories songwriter/guitarist/singer

Elisabeth Elektra - singer/producer/songwriter

Steven Hill - guitarist/keyboards in Evi Vine

Ben Roberts - cellist/bassist/multi-instrumentalist in Evi Vine/Prosthetic Head/Abrasive Trees

Matthew Rochford - guitarist/songwriter of Abrasive Trees

Evi Vine - singer/songwriter/bassist/guitarist

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

Silver Moth Black Bay
  • 1.Henry
  • 2.The Eternal
  • 3.Mother Tongue
  • 4.Gaelic Psalms
  • 5.Hello Doom
  • 6.Sedna

Item code: BELLA1401CD
Label: Bella Union
Info correct on: 13/7/2023