Seed Ensemble


Double LP

Formed in 2016, SEED Ensemble is a ten-piece project led by composer, arranger and alto saxophonist Cassie Kinoshi. Already a giant on the UK jazz scene, she's known for her work with jazz septet Nerija and afrobeat jazz group Kokoroko. Combinng jazz with inner-city London, West African and Caribbean influenced groove, Cassie's Kinoshi's SEED Enesmble explores a blend of genres through both original compositions and arrangements. Collaborators on this project include Theon Cross (tuba), Sheila Mauric-Grey (trumpet), Chelsea Charmichael (tenor saxophone) all brilliant up and coming young London jazz musicians and one of London's leading guitarists Shirley Tetteh. Compositions such as 'The Darkies' are a riposte to a resurgence of 1950's-style racism while 'WAKE (for Grenfell)' is dedicated to victims of a social schism.

Seed Ensemble Driftglass
  • 1.The Darkies
  • 2.Afronaut ft. XANA
  • 3.Stargaze #1: KATIN
  • 4.The Dream Keeper
  • 5.W A K E (for Grenfell) feat. Cherise Adams-Burnett
  • 6.Stargaze #2: LAU
  • 7.Mirrors
  • 8.Interplanetary Migration ft. Mr Ekow

Cat no: jrf0016
Label: Jazz Re:freshed
Info correct on: 29/7/2019