Pale Saints

The Comforts Of Madness (30th Anniversary)

LP regular + poster
0 left
Sorry - sold out
Double LP clear
Sorry - sold out
2 CD
LP regular

Notify me when this item is released / available

Most recently dispatched: 7 May

We've got some A2 posters of the album artwork - these are FREE with a purchase of the regular LP, you just pay a little extra P&P.

Deluxe double CD & LP formats include unreleased demos & 1989 John Peel Session.

On the eve of a post-Thatcherite Britain, the Pale Saints, alongside the likes of Lush, Ride and Slowdive, were ushering in a new wave of British indie. And in 4AD, they found a perfect home for their music - an exciting & undeniable meld of noise and dream-pop.

Their debut album, The Comforts of Madness, didn’t disappoint, now standing as one of the best of its era. Pitchfork placed it in their Best 50 Shoegaze Albums Of All Time saying, “There’s a restless urgency, particularly when the volume swells and the rhythms intensify. That energy not only keeps (it) vital, it emphasizes Pale Saints’ inventiveness, how they channelled softness and rage into something distinctive.”

Nearly 30 years on and The Comforts of Madness is finally getting the reissue treatment. Having been remastered, a faithful LP repress on black vinyl is being released as well as double CD and double clear vinyl editions, both of which come with a bonus disc of previously unreleased demos and the band’s only John Peel Session, recorded in 1989.

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

Pale Saints The Comforts Of Madness (30th Anniversary)
  • Double LP clear
  • 12.Sight Of You (Original Woodhouse Studio Version)
  • 13.Way The World Is (Woodhouse Studio LP Demo)
  • 14.Language of Flowers (Woodhouse Studio LP Demo)
  • 15.You Tear The World In Two (Woodhouse Studio LP Demo)
  • 16.Fell From The Sun (Woodhouse Studio LP Demo)
  • 17.A Deep Sleep For Steven (Woodhouse Studio LP Demo)
  • 18.Time Thief (Woodhouse Studio LP Demo)
  • 19.Sea of Sound (Woodhouse Studio LP Demo)
  • 20.Insubstantial (Woodhouse Studio LP Demo)
  • 21.Little Hammer (Woodhouse Studio LP Demo)
  • 22.True Coming Dream (Woodhouse Studio LP Demo)
  • 23.She Rides The Waves (John Peel Show Version)
  • 24.You Tear The World In Two (John Peel Show Version)
  • 25.Way The World Is (John Peel Show Version)
  • 26.Time Thief (John Peel Show Version)
  • LP regular
  • 1.Way The World Is
  • 2.You Tear The World In Two
  • 3.Sea of Sound
  • 4.True Coming Dream
  • 5.Little Hammer
  • 6.Insubstantial
  • 7.A Deep Sleep For Steven
  • 8.Language of Flowers
  • 9.Fell From The Sun
  • 10.Sight Of You
  • 11.Time Thief

Item code: 4AD0159CDX
Label: 4AD
Info correct on: 28/2/2020