Open City

Open City


The eponymous album from Open City, full on melodic-hardcore punk that reflects ferociousness built up from frustration. The album is a relentless politically and emotionally charged assault created from the supergroup consisting of vocalist Rachel Rubino (Bridge And Tunnel, Worriers), bassist Andy Nelson (Paint It Black, Ceremony, Dark Blue), guitarist Dan Yemin (Paint It Black, Lifetime, Kid Dynamite, Armalite), and drummer Chris Wilson (Ted Leo & the Pharmacists).

Open City draws direct inspiration from a specific period in underground punk. “The most exciting shows I’ve seen in my entire life have been in basements in New Jersey, Philadelphia and New York, during 1991 through the early 00s. Specifically Sarah Kirsch’s bands,” Yemin says, speaking of the prolific punk songwriter who played in 12 bands over 20 years, including John Henry West, Torches to Rome, Bread and Circuits, and Fuel. “Those bands were really inspiring in terms of how she did things, what the records sounded like and looked like, the interface between content and design, and presentation and process. Most recently Mothercountry Motherfuckers, the posthumous record that just came out, that was my favorite record of the past few years.” In the early 90s, Kirsch’s music left Yemin in awe: for its aggression, for its melody, the energy, the things said on stage between songs.

These are songs about sleepless nights, the reality of endings, about feeling stuck, honing on a purpose; about fighting, and then not fighting. “There's an inherent anger at the systems of oppression and abuse that constantly diminish and destroy the efforts of folks who are fighting for a better world,” Rubio says. “There's a deep disappointment for a lack of support and care from individuals in my life and in my community who I expected more from. There's a heavy dose of self-analysis, in a range from self care to self-loathing. Finding hope in strange places. Mourning loss along a timeline you cannot control. Trying to understand it. Admitting that I can't. It exists in that tense place where frustration is fighting apathy.” -- Liz Pelly

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

Open City Open City
  • 1.Hell Hath No Fury
  • 2.Whose God?
  • 3.For Shame
  • 4.Black Veils
  • 5.On The Spit
  • 6.Brother, I'm Getting Nowhere
  • 7.Nightshift
  • 8.Nerve Center
  • 9.Sofa Drugs
  • 10.Honest As A Sunday Morning

Cat no: opencity
Label: End Hits Records
Info correct on: 27/3/2017