Olafur Arnalds

some kind of peace


Most recently dispatched: 30 January

The new full length album from the acclaimed composer and ambient artist Olafur Arnalds.

Ólafur Arnalds is one of the most influential musicians of modern times: a multi-faceted talent, who has paved the way across the electronic and classical worlds. His latest album, ‘some kind of peace’, nonetheless has the feel of a brand new chapter for Ólafur. Within, you&'ll find a self-confessed perfectionist grappling with the messier realities of everyday life: the possibilities of love, of settling down, and how to navigate all of that during a global pandemic (the album was half-written prior to lockdown, and completed at Arnalds' harbour studio in downtown Reykjavik). What's emerged on 'some kind of peace' is a record about letting your guard down, and ultimately what it means to be alive.

‘some kind of peace’ is further previewed today by brand new track ‘We Contain Multitudes’ (and a video directed by Blair Alexander). In Ólafur’s own words, ‘We Contain Multitudes’ “was written at a friend' cabin in a jungle, late at night, on a tiny electric keyboard. At the time I had spent so much time away from what I had considered home, almost setting up a separate life on the other side of the planet. My mind was going through a process of learning to live in two vastly different cultures, of recognising that within one body there are multitudes of different and often contradictory facets of personality. The song remains a reminder that our minds are not constants, the self is ever evolving.'

More Items From Olafur ArnaldsSee all

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

Olafur Arnalds some kind of peace
  • 1.Loom feat. Bonobo
  • 2.Woven Song
  • 3.Spiral
  • 4.Still / Sound
  • 5.Back To The Sky feat. JFDR
  • 6.Zero
  • 7.New Grass
  • 8.The Bottom Line feat. Josin
  • 9.We Contain Multitudes
  • 10.Undone

Item code: 734831
Label: Mercury KX
Info correct on: 3/11/2020