Mr Scruff

Keep It Unreal (20th Anniversary)

Double LP green

Scruff's debut for Ninja Tune, and it's just one of those essential LPs for fans of quirky, jazzy upbeat downbeat grooves. Includes the massive trad-jazz-house anthem (and advert favourite) "Get A Move On", as well as "Honeydew", "Jus Jus" with Roots Manuva and the silly "Shanty Town" and "Fish".

A product of post-acid house Manchester, Mr Scruff is a complete one-off; a cheeky innovator. His debut album is a bold statement, distinctive and confident. "Keep It Unreal" oscillates wildly between opposing styles - one moment Scruff's in deep, down-tempo dinner jazz territory, the next he's in Coldcut mode, chopping out superb big beat breaks with naughty hooklines to get you pogoing. At one extreme is the wacko humour of Spandex Man, bolshi breakbeat and a hooky 1920s jazz loop that'll make you grin. And then there's the even more ridiculous "Shanty Town", with samples of a Jacknory story about a whale. At the other end of the scale, is Scruff's accomplished acid jazz - like the serene, trip-hoppy "Midnight Feast" or the smoothie cocktail number "Honeydew", with it's loungey female vocals. This man is out there, the Salvador Dali of beats and breaks.

More Items From Mr ScruffSee all

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

Mr Scruff Keep It Unreal (20th Anniversary)
  • 1.Is He Ready... Feat. Mary Ann Hobbs 'The Breeze Blocks'
  • 2.Spandex Man
  • 3.Get A Move On
  • 4.MIdnight Feast
  • 5.Honeydew
  • 6.Cheeky
  • 7.So Long
  • 8.Chipmunk
  • 9.So You Hear?
  • 10.Shanty Town
  • 11.Jus Jus Feat. Roots Manuva
  • 12.Blackpool Roll
  • 13.Travelogue
  • 14.Fish

Item code: ZEN42
Label: Ninja Tune
Info correct on: 21/9/2020