Matthew Sweet


LP orange
LP regular

Most recently dispatched: 20 January

The 11th solo release from Matthew Sweet.

Written, Produced, Recorded, Mixed and almost entirely performed by Sweet • Mastered by Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering

Matthew Sweet played in bands in Athens, GA as that scene exploded, collaborating with R.E.M.’s Michael Stipe, playing in Linda Stipe’s Oh-OK, and The Buzz Of Delight. That work scooped him up into the major label world making countless acclaimed solo records, forming the supergroup The Thorns with Shawn Mullins and Pete Droge, and beginning a series of covers albums with The Bangles’ Susanna Hoffs.

Now, it’s time for Matthew to just plain rock out by himself again. Omnivore Recordings is proud to announce the release of “Catspaw” – written, produced, recorded, mixed, and entirely preformed (save ferocious drumming from Ric Menck of Velvet Crush) by Matthew at his home studio.

Mastered by Bob Ludwig, the Hofner bass and Novo guitars sing and howl, harkening back to classics like “Girlfriend” and “Altered Beast” – all while retaining the hooks that dig into the listener. Well, like a cat’s paw.

“Catspaw” opens a new chapter in the storied history of Matthew Sweet – his first album in his fifth decade as a recording artist. It may seem cute on the outside, but be prepared to get smacked by “Catspaw”.

More Items From Matthew SweetSee all

Matthew Sweet Catspaw
  • 1.Blown Away
  • 2.Give A Little
  • 3.Challenge The Gods
  • 4.Come Home
  • 5.Drifting
  • 6.Best Of Me
  • 7.Stars Explode
  • 8.Hold On Tight
  • 9.At A Loss
  • 10.No Surprise
  • 11.Coming Soon
  • 12.Parade Of Lights

Item code: OVCD408
Label: Omnivore Recordings
Info correct on: 18/1/2021