Mark Lanegan

Straight Songs Of Sorrow

Double LP regular
Double LP 180g clear - Indies Exclusive
0 left
Sorry - sold out

Notify me when this item is released / available

Indies exclusive LP is on 180g 'crystal clear' coloured vinyl.

When considering any great work of art, be it a painting, a novel, or a piece of music, it’s natural to wonder what might have inspired it: ‘the story behind the song’. Mark Lanegan’s new album, Straight Songs Of Sorrow, flips that equation. Here are 15 songs inspired by a story: his life story, as documented by his own hand in his new memoir, Sing Backwards And Weep.

Straight Songs Of Sorrow combines musical trace elements from early Mark Lanegan albums with the synthesized constructs of later work. The meditative acoustic guitar fingerpicking – provided by Lamb Of God’s Mark Morton – on Apples From A Tree and Hanging On (For DRC) echo 1994’s Whiskey For The Holy Ghost. Yet one of that record’s touchstones was Van Morrison’s Astral Weeks, echoed in the new album’s opener I Wouldn’t Want To Say, where Lanegan extemporises *à la Ballerina over musique concrète wave patterns generated by his latest favourite compositional tool, a miniature computer-synth called the Organelle.

More Items From Mark LaneganSee all

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

Mark Lanegan Straight Songs Of Sorrow
  • 1.I Wouldn't Want To Say
  • 2.Apples From A Tree
  • 3.This Game of Love
  • 4.Ketamine
  • 5.Bleed All Over
  • 6.Churchbells, Ghosts
  • 7.Internal Hourglass Discussion
  • 8.Stockholm City Blues
  • 9.Skeleton Key
  • 10.Daylight In The Nocturnal House
  • 11.Ballad of A Dying Rover
  • 12.Hanging On (For DRC)
  • 13.Burying Ground
  • 14.At Zero Below
  • 15.Eden Lost And Found

Item code: HVNLP178CD
Label: Heavenly Recordings
Info correct on: 5/5/2020