Clutching At Straws

Double LP
4 CD / Bluray Boxset
Sorry - sold out
5 LP Boxset

Please note: the tracklisting only details the vinyl tracks.
1-12 is the '2018 Andy Bradfield & Avril Mackintosh Re-Mix'
13-30 is Live at the Edinburgh Playhouse (19/12/1987) / (2018 Michael Hunter Remix)

Following the multi-platinum success of Marillion’s concept album Misplaced Childhood, the British quintet returned in 1987 with their fourth studio album, Clutching At Straws. The album peaked at #2 on the U.K. charts, where it scored Top 40 hits with “Incommunicado,” “Sugar Mice,” and “Warm Wet Circles.” Considered by many to be one of the neo-prog rocker’s finest, Clutching At Straws would also turn out to be Marillion’s final studio release with original singer Fish.

Marillion will look back on this classic with two versions of the Clutching At Straws: Deluxe Edition. One is a 4CD/Blu-ray set, and the other a 5LP version. The music will be available the same day through digital and streaming services.

Both collections open with a new version of Clutching At Straws that was remixed earlier this year by Andy Bradfield and Avril Mackintosh. Both sets also include a concert recording of Marillon performing in Scotland at the Edinburgh Playhouse in December 1987 during the group’s final tour of Fish-era. It was mixed by Michael Hunter.

Some of the performances first appeared in 1988 on the live album, The Thieving Magpie. In concert, the band plays songs that span its entire career up to that point with “Garden Party” from its 1983 debut Script for a Jester’s Tear; “Punch And Judy” from Fugazi (1984); “Kayleigh” from Misplaced Childhood (1985); and “Warm Wet Circles” from Clutching at Straws.

The third disc in the CD-version of CLUTCHING AT STRAWS: DELUXE EDITION brings together nine demo recordings released in 1999 with four unreleased demos for “Hotel Hobbies/Warm Wet Circles,” “Just For The Record,” “Torch Song” and “Slàinte Mhath.”

The Blu-ray features the 1987 album’s original mix, plus various other mixes (48/24 PCM Stereo Remix; 48/24 LPCM Master Audio 5.1 Mix; 48/24 DTS Master Audio 5.1 Mix). Video content includes a new 60 minute documentary featuring Mick Wall interviewing the band and discussing the album, plus promo films for “Incommunicado,” “Sugar Mice” and “Warm Wet Circles.”

a look at the LP boxset

More Items From MarillionSee all

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

Marillion Clutching At Straws
  • 1.Hotel Hobbies
  • 2.Warm Wet Circles
  • 3.That Time of the Night (The Short Straw)
  • 4.Going Under
  • 5.Just for the Record
  • 6.White Russian
  • 7.Incommunicado
  • 8.Torch Song
  • 9.Slàinte Mhath
  • 10.Sugar Mice
  • 11.The Last Straw
  • 12.Happy Ending
  • 13.La Gazza Ladra
  • 14.Slainte Mhath
  • 15.Assassing
  • 16.White Russian
  • 17.Incubus
  • 18.Sugar Mice
  • 19.Fugazi
  • 20.Hotel Hobbies
  • 21.Warm Wet Circles
  • 22.That Time of the Night (The Short Straw)
  • 23.Pseudo Silk Kimono (instrumental)
  • 24.Kayleigh
  • 25.Lavender
  • 26.Bitter Suite
  • 27.Heart of Lothian
  • 28.The Last Straw
  • 29.Incommunicado
  • 30.Garden Party

Item code: 0190295605049
Info correct on: 21/5/2020