Marika Hackman

Any Human Friend

LP coloured Back In Soon!

Notify me when this item is released / available

This item hasn't been updated for over a year. We believe the item to be available, but that might not necessarily be the case.

If you need to know before ordering, contact us via @BanquetRecords on Twitter or send us an email

The highly anticipated third full length album from indie-pop-rockers Marika Hackman, following on from her excellent 2017 I'm Not Your Man. Co-produced by David Wrench (Frank Ocean, The xx, Let’s Eat Grandma) and Marika herself. 

The process of writing ‘Any Human Friend’ was an incredibly difficult one: Marika stopped being able to sleep properly, waking up in the middle of the night to write songs - but as the best songwriters do, she strengthened her own voice through the process, exploring herself and emerging with a widescreen, heavy-hitting and sexy record.

The longer recording process meant that Marika had the time to experiment in the studio, especially with electronic songs. She deployed synthesisers that recall the off-kilter, oddball hits of OMD or New Order, and places them at the heart of the album. For all the urgency of the backing music, Marika’s natural delivery and sensuous tone offers a dreamlike quality to the proceedings and allows her to look within to find answers that make sense outside.

Marika Hackman at New Slang - photo by Jez Pennington

More Items From Marika HackmanSee all

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

Marika Hackman Any Human Friend
  • 1.wanderlust
  • 2.the one
  • 3.all night
  • 4.blow
  • 5.i'm not where you are
  • 6.send my love
  • 7.hand solo
  • 8.conventional ride
  • 9.come undone
  • 10.hold on
  • 11.any human friend

Item code: AMFCD0013
Info correct on: 5/5/2020