Madlib / Four Tet

Sound Ancestors (Arranged By Kieran Hebden)


Most recently dispatched: 28 July

What a pairing! Kieran Hebden arranges a bunch of Madlib beats, audio sketches and tracks into a full album, taking in jazz, electronica, kraut, soul and hip hop, made over the course of the last few years.

Gil Evans to Miles Davis…. Holger Czukay to the ensemble known as Can….Jean Claude Vannier to Serge Gainsbourg on Histoire de Melody Nelson. That’s the only way to explain the specificity of Four Tet and Madlib’s collaboration, in this special album that showcases a two-decade long friendship that has resulted in an album that follows Madlib’s classics like Quasimoto’s The Unseen, Madvillainy and his Pinata and Bandana albums with Freddie Gibbs.
“A few months ago I completed work on an album with my friend Madlib that we’d been making for the last few years. He is always making loads of music in all sorts of styles and I was listening to some of his new beats and studio sessions when I had the idea that it would be great to hear some of these ideas made into a Madlib solo album. Not made into beats for vocalists to use but instead arranged into tracks that could all flow together in an album designed to be listened to start to finish. I put this concept to him when we were hanging out eating some nice food one day and we decided to work on this together with him sending me tracks, loops, ideas and experiments that I would arrange, edit, manipulate and combine. I was sent hundreds of pieces of music over a couple of years stretch and during that time I put together this album with all the
parts that fitted with my vision.” Kieren Hebden AKA Four Tet.

More Items From Madlib / Four TetSee all

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

Madlib / Four Tet Sound Ancestors (Arranged By Kieran Hebden)
  • 1.There Is No Time (Prelude)
  • 2.The Call
  • 3.Theme De Crabtree
  • 4.Road Of The Lonely Ones
  • 5.Loose Goose
  • 6.Dirtknock
  • 7.Hopprock
  • 8.Riddim Chant
  • 9.Sound Ancestors
  • 10.One For Quartabe / Right Now
  • 11.Hang Out (Phone Off)
  • 12.Two for 2 -For Dilla
  • 13.Latino Negro
  • 14.The New Normal
  • 15.Chino
  • 16.Duumbiyay

Item code: MMS044CD
Label: Madlib Invazion
Info correct on: 23/2/2021