Scatter the Rats

This item hasn't been updated for over a year. We believe the item to be in stock, but that might not necessarily be the case.

If you need to know before ordering, contact us via @BanquetRecords on Twitter or send us an email shop@banquetrecords.com.

The first L7 album in 20 years, Scatter the Rats embodies everything that made the band so iconic in the first place-the distortion-heavy riffs and headbanging rhythms, sludgy grooves and indelible melodies. And in their lyrics, L7 achieve a direct transmission of raw feeling, often spiked with biting commentary on the chaos of the world today.

''Burn Baby'' opens the album with a galvanizing reflection on letting go of old grudges for the sake of fighting a greater evil, while ''Fighting the Crave'' offers a slice of life on the inner push and pull of whatever one might crave. Throughout the album, L7 also examine depression (Sparks's ''Holding Pattern,'' which matches its delicate melody with a disarming vulnerability), lonely hearts (Suzi Gardner's gloriously swampy ''Murky Water Cafe'') and codependency (the unhinged ''Garbage Truck,'' written by Jennifer Finch). And on ''Uppin' the Ice,'' the band delivers a dance-worthy track inspired by a bit of advice Demetra Plakas got from her doctor upon breaking her arm before the band headed into the studio. ''I took the idea of upping the ice as a metaphor for throwing down and doing what you have to do to make something happen, naysayers be damned, because that's who we are as a band,'' says Sparks.

More Items From L7See all

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

L7 Scatter the Rats
  • 1.Burn Baby
  • 2.Fighting The Crave
  • 3.Proto Prototype
  • 4.Stadium West
  • 5.Murky Water Cafe
  • 6.Ouija Board Lies
  • 7.Garbage Truck
  • 8.Holding Pattern
  • 9.Uppin' The Ice
  • 10.Cool About Easy
  • 11.Scatter The Rats

Item code: 4833719191
Info correct on: 24/7/2019