Kelley Stoltz


LP regular
LP + 12" blue/splatter + pink Dinked Edition
14 left

Notify me when this item is released / available

Expected 20th November 2020

"Dinked edition" is on 'blue / splatter' coloured vinyl, includes an exclusive bonus 'pink' coloured 12" of the 'Casio Life EP'. Numbered /400. For avoidance of doubt, the centre is a standard spindle size, and not dinked.

“I was guzzling wine at my favorite bar in San Francisco, the Rite Spot, and the entertainment that night was some local opera singers singing along with a big video screen showing a collage of various operatic moments with subtitles. One particular subtitle, ‘Ah!(etc)’ made me laugh, I thought it was a perfect description of life - the joy of existence against the etcetera of it all, the struggle. With a heavy head of rose’ it seemed like ecstatic poetry! I scribbled it on a napkin and thought it might make a good title for something” And so the mystery behind the title of Kelley Stoltz new record is solved. Less of a mystery is the quality contained therein... after 12 self-titled releases and a several more under pseudonyms, Stoltz is the word for “one-man- band-home-recording-pop-songs of idiosyncratic character.” A quick follow up to his more power pop and pub rock LP only “Hard Feelings” offering in the summer, “Ah(etc)” finds Stoltz returning to his sweet spot, writing songs that never were, but should have been in the 60’s and 80’s.

As with other LPs Stoltz makes virtually every noise on the album which was written and recorded in 2019 at his Electric Duck Studio in. San Francisco. A few friends popped in to play along... Stoltz former bandmate, Echo & the Bunnymen’s Will Sergeant adds electric guitar to “The Quiet Ones” a sort of Scott Walker lyrical take on strangers and neighbors. Karina Denike formerly of Dance Hall Crashers adds gorgeous vocals on the bossanova groover “Moon Shy”, where Sergeant pops up again in a spoken word role on the outro. Allyson Baker of SF’s Dirty Ghosts sings on “She Like Noise”, a song Stoltz wrote for her in celebration of her love of seeing live bands.

More Items From Kelley StoltzSee all

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

Kelley Stoltz Ah!(etc)
AGIT057X.png Pre-Order
  • LP regular
  • earth
  • 2.the quiet ones
  • 3.never change enough
  • 4.dodged a bullet
  • 5.cold
  • 6.she likes noise
  • 7.some other time
  • 8.moon shy
  • 9.darkness too
  • 10.chasing the light
  • 11.tomorrow
  • 12.having fun
  • LP + 12" blue/splatter + pink Dinked Edition
  • 13.Gift of Days [Bonus 12" only]
  • 14.Peace Together [Bonus 12" only]
  • 15.Pictures of Me [Bonus 12" only]
  • 16.Casio Life [Bonus 12" only]

Item code: AGIT057X
Label: Agitated Records
Info correct on: 16/9/2020