Joy Orbison

still slipping vol. 1


Most recently dispatched: 23 September

‘still slipping vol.1’ is the debut full length project from Joy Orbison. Fans of Joy O’s DJ sets and radio shows will already be aware of his diverse tastes and inspirations, represented here through a roll call of delicately curated, mainly UK, collaborators that include Herron, James Massiah, Bathe, Léa Sen, Goya Gumbani and TYSON.

Just as important are the voices of  Joy Orbison's family - mum, dad, sister Sarah, uncle Frankie, uncle Keith (recently departed), auntie Helen and cousins Lola and Mia, as well as Leighann, who was the first person to introduce him to drum and bass and garage as a kid and stars on the mixtape’s cover art.

They appear throughout the record via a series of voice notes, his only contact with his family during this year of worldwide lockdown and an intimate, vicarious glimpse into the personal world of an artist who has generally side-stepped the public gaze. 

More Items From Joy OrbisonSee all

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

Joy Orbison still slipping vol. 1
  • 1.w/ dad & frankie
  • 2.sparko (feat. Herron)
  • 3.swag w/ kav (feat. James Massiah & Bathe)
  • 4.better (feat. Léa Sen)
  • 5.bernard?
  • 6.runnersz
  • 7.rraine (feat. Edna)
  • 8.glorious amateurs
  • 9.s gets jaded
  • 10.froth sipping
  • 11.layer 6
  • 12.in drink
  • 13.playground (feat. Goya Gumbani)
  • 14.born slipping (feat. TYSON)

Item code: XL1188CD
Label: XL Recordings
Info correct on: 21/7/2021