Hot Sauce Vol. 2

Various Artists


Most recently dispatched: 15 December

LP on 180g black vinyl.

After much delay, here is the second volume of the HOT SAUCE compilation LPs dedicated to the Trojan related UK labels between 1965 and 1975.

HOT SAUCE VOLUME 2 features outstanding original Rocksteady, Boss Reggae and early Reggae (“Reggay”) tracks including rare songs, overlooked gems, hidden treasures and a couple of hits.

The record labels showcased on this volume are Amalgamated, Beverley’s Records, Blue Cat, Clan Disk, Downtown, Doctor Bird, Harry J, Duke, Randy’s, Smash, Spinning Wheel and Treasure Isle.

The tracks here have been selected according to their musical interest firstly, their rarity, and their complementarity. These tracks are all outstanding tracks, “killer tracks”, there is no “filler” whatsoever.

Particular attention has been paid to the way the songs are sequenced (or “mixed”) so that the album builds up nicely and gradually, generally starting with the Rocksteady songs on the A side and the 70s songs on the B side.

HOT SAUCE is a musical journey across early Jamaican Reggae - highlighting its diverse musical genres and outstanding artists – as it was once published by the U.K. record labels during this golden decade…

Since the early 70s “Tighten Up” series, no compilations have really explored these labels in depth on vinyl.

Hot Sauce Vol. 2 Various Artists
  • 1.Lloyd & Glen - Keep On Pushing
  • 2.Roy Shirley - Music Is The Key
  • 3.Glen Adams - Hold Him Joe
  • 4.Sir Collins & The Earthquakes - Earthquake
  • 5.Cynthia Richards - Conversation
  • 6.Baba Brooks & His Recording Band - This Is Thunder
  • 7.The Leaders - Someday Someway
  • 8.Dave Barker - Hot Sauce (Aka The Agro Man Is Back)
  • 9.Winston Wright With Tommy McCook & The Supersonics - Psychedelic Reggae
  • 10.Dermott Lynch - Echo (Feel Like Crying)
  • 11.Delroy Wilson - Together
  • 12.Tommy McCook & The Supersonics - Stupid Doctor
  • 13.Big Youth & Dennis Brown - Ride On Ride On
  • 14.Augustus Pablo - Reggae In The Fields

Item code: HSRSSLP0002
Label: Harlem Shuffle
Info correct on: 11/10/2021