Heaven 17

Play To Win - The Virgin Years

5 LP set coloured
10 CD Box
This item hasn't been updated for over a year. We believe the item to be in stock, but that might not necessarily be the case.

If you need to know before ordering, contact us via @BanquetRecords on Twitter or send us an email shop@banquetrecords.com.

Please note: tracklisting is only detailing the 5 LP set.

Original members of Sheffield’s Human League, Martyn Ware and Ian Craig Marsh left after the first two albums and formed Heaven 17 in 1980. Named after a fictional band in Anthony Burgess’s “A Clockwork Orange”, they recruited Glenn Gregory on vocals (who had been the original choice for lead singer of the Human League).

Signed to Virgin Records, debut single “(We Don’t Need This) Fascist Groove Thang” attracted a lot of attention in March 1981, and a BBC Radio 1 ban. Debut album “Penthouse And Pavement” was released in September 1981 and was certified Gold the following year. Many more chart singles followed, including Top 5 hits “Temptation” and “Come Live With Me”, taken from a further four albums – “The Luxury Gap” (1983), “How Men Are” (1984), “Pleasure One” (1986), and “Teddy Bear, Duke & Psycho” (1988).

5 LP Set details

This 5 LP set includes all five original albums that the band recorded for Virgin Records, housed in a rigid slipcase. The inner sleeves include all the lyrics and credits, while the albums are pressed on different coloured 180 gram vinyl.

10 CD Box details

This 10 CD set includes the five original albums that the band recorded for Virgin Records, along with over a hundred bonus tracks: non-album A- and B-sides, 7” edits, US edits, instrumentals, 1980 demos, and four CDs of 12” remixes (many of which only saw very limited release).

Housed in a 12” x 12” album-style book, the set will also include a 36 page 12” x 12” booklet with the lyrics, credits, photos, and ephemera from the band’s collection, and brand new annotation, based on new interviews with the band

More Items From Heaven 17See all

Heaven 17 Play To Win - The Virgin Years
  • 1.(We Don't Need This) Fascist Groove Thang
  • 2.Penthouse And Pavement
  • 3.Play To Win
  • 4.Soul Warfare
  • 5.Geisha Boys And Temple Girls
  • 6.Letâ??s All Make A Bomb
  • 7.The Height Of The Fighting
  • 8.Song With No Name
  • 9.We're Going To Live For A Very Long Time
  • 10.Crushed By The Wheels Of Industry
  • 11.Who'll Stop The Rain
  • 12.Let Me Go
  • 13.Key To The World
  • 14.Temptation
  • 15.Come Live With Me
  • 16.Lady Ice And Mr Hex
  • 17.We Live So Fast
  • 18.The Best Kept Secret
  • 19.Five Minutes To Midnight
  • 20.Sunset Now
  • 21.This Is Mine
  • 22.The Fuse
  • 23.Shame Is On The Rocks
  • 24.The Skin I'm In
  • 25.Flamedown
  • 26.Reputation
  • 27.And That's No Lie
  • 28.Contenders
  • 29.Trouble
  • 30.Somebody
  • 31.If I Were You
  • 32.Low Society
  • 33.Red
  • 34.Look At Me
  • 35.Move Out
  • 36.Free
  • 37.Big Square People
  • 38.Don't Stop For No One
  • 39.Snake And Two People
  • 40.Can You Hear Me?
  • 41.Hot Blood
  • 42.The Ballad Of Go Go Brown
  • 43.Dangerous
  • 44.I Set You Free
  • 45.Train Of Love In Motion
  • 46.Responsibility

Item code: HEAVENBOX01
Label: Demon Records
Info correct on: 5/2/2019