Guided By Voices

Alien Lanes

LP coloured Back In Soon!

Notify me when this item is released / available

Most recently dispatched: 5 January

Matador Records release a 25th Anniversary vinyl edition of Guided By Voices’ 1995 album Alien Lanes. Inspired by the multicoloured drumhead featured on the album’s artwork, this new edition is pressed on blue, green and red multicolored vinyl making it the first non-exclusive colour vinyl edition of this release. Limited to a one time press of 2,500 copies.

Originally released on April 4, 1995, Alien Lanes served as the first Guided by Voices album to be released on Matador Records. With 28 tracks spanning the course of 41 minutes, the album would fundamentally alter the concept of what a rock and roll record could be. Bursting at the seams with classic rock bravado (Game of Pricks, Closer You Are), anthemic power pop (My Valuable Hunting Knife, Motor Away), punk (Pimple Zoo, My Son Cool), psychedelic experimentalism (Ex-Supermodel, Alright), and tape-warped ballads (King And Caroline, Blimps Go 90, Chicken Blows) Alien Lanes dips and dives between genres and moods with breakneck efficiency and a remarkable amount of intellect and emotion bolstered by the abstract poetry of songwriter and front-man Bob Pollard.

More Items From Guided By VoicesSee all

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

Guided By Voices Alien Lanes
  • 1.A Salty Salute [1:29]
  • 2.Evil Speakers [0:58]
  • 3.Watch Me Jumpstart [2:24]
  • 4.They're Not Witches [0:51]
  • 5.As We Go Up, We Go Down [1:37]
  • 6.(I Wanna Be a) Dumbcharger [1:13]
  • 7.Game of Pricks [1:33]
  • 8.The Ugly Vision [1:35]
  • 9.A Good Flying Bird [1:07]
  • 10.Cigarette Tricks [0:18]
  • 11.Pimple Zoo [0:42]
  • 12.Big Chief Chinese Restaurant [0:56]
  • 13.Closer You Are [1:56]
  • 14.Auditorium [1:02]
  • 15.Motor Away [2:06]
  • 16.Hit [0:22]
  • 17.My Valuable Hunting Knife [2:00]
  • 18.Gold Hick [0:30]
  • 19.King and Caroline [1:36]
  • 20.Striped White Jets [2:15]
  • 21.Ex-Supermodel [1:06]
  • 22.Blimps Go 90 [1:40]
  • 23.Strawdogs [1:17]
  • 24.Chicken Blows [2:21]
  • 25.Little Whirl [1:46]
  • 26.My Son Cool [1:41]
  • 27.Always Crush Me [1:44]
  • 28.Alright [2:56]

Item code: OLE123LP
Label: Matador
Info correct on: 27/7/2020