Godspeed You! Black Emperor

Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress

LP + MP3 Code!

LP comes in heavyweight  gatefold sleeve with pull-out poster. CD comes in recycled paperboard sleeve

The legendary GY!BE are back! This is their first single length LP for over 15 years! 

Known to fans and through live show recordings by the sobriquet “Behemoth”, GYBE has gradually distilled this new work down to a fastidious and uncompromising essence in the studio, with the swing-time swagger of the opening unison riff in “Peasantry or ‘Light! Inside of Light!’” giving way to increasing microtonal divergences and an exhilarating immersion in the harmonic power of massed amplified instruments, before collapsing into some of the most visceral and unalloyed noise/drone the band has yet committed to tape on “Lambs’ Breath” and “Asunder, Sweet”.

The album closes with “Piss Crowns Are Trebled”, a 14-minute piece of vintage Godspeed, where ascending and descending guitar and violin melodies intertwine over gut-rattling distorted bass in 3/4 time, segueing into a pummeling four-on-the-floor series of sparkling, soaring crescendos. ‘Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress’ finds Godspeed in top form; a sterling celebration of the band’s awesome dialectic, where composition, emotion and ‘note-choice’ is inextricable from an exacting focus on tone, timbre, resonance and the sheer materiality of sound.

More Items From Godspeed You! Black EmperorSee all

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

Godspeed You! Black Emperor Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress
  • 1.Peasantry Or 'Light! Inside Of Light!'
  • 2.Lambs' Breath
  • 3.Asunder, Sweet
  • 4.Piss Crowns Are Trebled

Item code: CST111
Label: Constellation
Info correct on: 1/10/2019