Genius / GZA

Liquid Swords

Double LP

Most recently dispatched: 15 October

GZA's legendary Liquid Swords on double LP!

According to legend, when the Wu-Tang Clan formed like Voltron on their debut album in 1993, GZA happened to be the head - an appropriate place for a man also called “The Genius”. Yet at the time few could have predicted that his 1995 masterpiece Liquid Swords would be considered “one of the most substantial lyrical journeys in hip-hop history” (Chicago Tribune). At the peak of his powers as a producer, Wu-Tang mastermind RZA crafted the album's distinctive soundtrack at his basement studio in Staten Island; a haunting landscape of dusty samples, sharp snares and menacing urban gloom, with frequent interludes of dialogue from the classic Samurai flick Shogun Assassin. Cerebral, strategic and precise with his words, GZA crystallizes a range of influences - from chess to kung-fu films to mob flicks and Eastern philosophy - into sharply delivered rhymes. The album features appearances by the entire Wu-Tang Clan, and includes the auspicious debut of Killah Priest on “B.I.B.L.E.” Acknowledged as one of the “100 Best Rap Albums” (The Source) and “Top 100 Records of the 1990s” (, Get On Down is proud to present Liquid Swords as it was intended to be experienced, on doublevinyl with audio remastered from the original source tapes and the original iconic cover artwork from DC Comics artist Denys Cowan.

More Items From Genius / GZA

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

Genius / GZA Liquid Swords
  • 1.Liquid Swords
  • 2.Duel Of The Iron Mic
  • 3.Living In The World Today
  • 4.Gold
  • 5.Cold World
  • 6.Labels
  • 7.4th Chamber
  • 8.Shadowboxin'
  • 9.Killah Hills 10304
  • 10.Investigative Reports
  • 11.Swordsman
  • 12.I Gotcha Back
  • 13.Basic Instructions Before Leaving Earth

Item code: GET54043LP
Label: Get On Down
Info correct on: 11/8/2020


Hip Hop