Frank Turner

Tape Deck Heart [RSD23]

Double LP Record Store Day
0 left
Sorry - sold out

Notify me when this item is released / available

Double LP Record Store Day: these are limited to 1 per customer

Most recently dispatched: 1 May

This is an exclusive release for Record Store Day 2023. Available from Saturday 22nd April over the counter, with online sales beginning at 8:00pm on Monday 24th April. Strictly 1 per customer. Click notify me above to be kept up to date.

Record Store Day 2023 coincides with the exact tenth anniversary of English singer-songwriter Frank Turner’s fifth studio album, Tape Deck Heart, and brings with it the next in the series of Turner’s collectible tenth anniversary editions.

Pressed on two limited edition burnt red vinyl, the original album is accompanied by a second LP of previously unreleased ‘The Evolution Demos’, mastered and cut by Frank Arkwright at Abbey Road Studios.

 In line with previous editions, this expanded reissue is packaged in a striking, metallic-printed, gatefold sleeve, within an O-Card. The 4 page insert contains lyrics and brand new liner notes written by Frank, reflecting on the album and his journey over the last 10 years. The artwork features designs by two tattooists - a painting of Frank on the O-Card by Matt Hunt, and gatefold sleeve illustrations by Heather Ann Law. 

 The album was recorded at El Dorado Studios (Burbank, CA) in 2012 with Frank’s band, The Sleeping Souls, and producer Rich Costey. The sessions came off the back of extensive touring for Frank’s fourth studio album, England Keep My Bones, which had included a sold-out headline show at Wembley Stadium. Tape Deck Heart debuted at No.2 on the UK album charts.

 In Frank’s own words:

 "A 'Tape Deck Heart' is someone who has a love of music above anything else. I don’t miss cassettes, but I am of an age - like many of us - whose music listening life was defined by Walkmen and C90 tapes."

 This album is about self-examination, running through your own faults, about change, and about ending. Something like that."

More Items From Frank TurnerSee all

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

Frank Turner Tape Deck Heart [RSD23]
602448756435.png RSD 2023
  • 1.Recovery 3:32
  • 2.Losing Days 3:34
  • 3.The Way I Tend To Be 3:45
  • 4.Plain Sailing Weather 4:05
  • 5.Good & Gone 3:52
  • 6.Tell Tale Signs 4:12
  • 7.Four Simple Words 5:00
  • 8.Polaroid Picture 3:47
  • 9.The Fisher King Blues 5:04
  • 10.Anymore 3:11
  • 11.Oh Brother 4:19
  • 12.Broken Piano 5:30
  • 13.Recovery 3:16 (The Evolution Demos)
  • 14.Losing Days 3:29 (The Evolution Demos)
  • 15.The Way I Tend To Be 3:42 (The Evolution Demos)
  • 16.Plain Sailing Weather 3:33 (The Evolution Demos)
  • 17.Good & Gone 3:51 (The Evolution Demos)
  • 18.Tell Tale Signs 4:17 (The Evolution Demos)
  • 19.Four Simple Words 4:44 (The Evolution Demos)
  • 20.Polaroid Picture 3:33 (The Evolution Demos)
  • 21.The Fisher King Blues 4:44 (The Evolution Demos)
  • 22.Oh Brother 3:43 (The Evolution Demos)
  • 23.Broken Piano 5:16 (The Evolution Demos)

Item code: 602448756435
Label: UMC/Polydor
Info correct on: 26/4/2023