Esben and the Witch

Violet Cries

LP + MP3 Code!
This item hasn't been updated for over a year. We believe the item to be in stock, but that might not necessarily be the case.

If you need to know before ordering, contact us via @BanquetRecords on Twitter or send us an email shop@banquetrecords.com.

Since self-releasing their demo-cum-EP, 33, in the Winter of 2009 and following it up with the limited 7” and 12” releases of ‘Lucia, At The Precipice’ and ‘Marching Song’ in 2010, the Brighton trio of Esben and the Witch have steadily been gathering momentum towards the release of their debut album, ‘Violet Cries’.

Garnering interest and intrigue from even the earliest stages of their development, Esben and the Witch have placed themselves firmly at the vanguard of new bands who are not only lurking in the shadows, they’re positively flourishing there. Not without reason, as they demonstrate with Violet Cries, an uncompromising record sure to surprise with it’s stark beauty.

Building ‘Violet Cries’ around a dark core, the trio fiercely retained full control to create the record they wanted to make. A band statement to fans when announcing its release reads, “there is a boldness and a naivety to the album and the artwork we all feel terrifically proud of and the one thing we felt we had to maintain in this process was that it had to be new, it had to be something which we felt had not been explored previously.”


Marching Song

More Items From Esben and the WitchSee all

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

Esben and the Witch Violet Cries
  • 1.Argyria
  • 2.Marching Song
  • 3.Marine Fields Glow
  • 4.Light Streams
  • 5.Hexagons IV
  • 6.Chorea
  • 7.Warpath
  • 8.Battlecry /Mimicry
  • 9.Eumenides
  • 10.Swans

Cat no: OLE939
Label: Matador Records
Info correct on: 26/2/2015