El Michels Affair

Sounding Out The City

This item hasn't been updated for over a year. We believe the item to be in stock, but that might not necessarily be the case.

If you need to know before ordering, contact us via @BanquetRecords on Twitter or send us an email shop@banquetrecords.com.

Reissue of the first album by Wu Tang collaborator El Michels Affair. One of the very first and most noteable NYC soul scene releases! 

Leon Michels, who was 18 when recording 'Sounding Out The City' began, had just released 'Thunder Chicken', the first record by his high school band The Mighty Imperials. At the time of SOTC, Michels was just discovering early rocksteady, afrobeat, and 60's garage rock, which inevitably crept its way into the songwriting.

Sounding Out The City

More Items From El Michels AffairSee all

El Michels Affair Sounding Out The City
  • 1.Detroit Twice
  • 2.Musings To Myself
  • 3.Too Late To Turn Back
  • 4.El Pueblo Unido
  • 5.Behind The Blue Curtain
  • 6.Ocho Rios
  • 7.Yennicita
  • 8.Creation
  • 9.This Songs For You
  • 10.Slide Show
  • 11.Hung Up On My Baby

Item code: BC022
Label: Big Crown
Info correct on: 26/2/2018