Dr. John

Dr. John's Gumbo

LP turqouise/marbled

LP on 180g 'turquoise / marbled' coloured vinyl.

The fifth album by Dr. John, aka The Night Tripper, is also heralded as his richest album to date. Dr John’s Gumbo was released in 1972 and is in many ways a tribute to his hometown New Orleans. It features excellent interpretations of New Orleans traditionals (“Iko Iko”, “Tipitina”, “Junko Partner” and “Stack-O-Lee”) and contemporary R&B written or played by the likes of Huey Piano Smith (“Blow Wind Blow” and “Huey Smith Medley”) Earl King and Earl Gaines (“Big Chief”, “Let The Good Times Roll” and “Lonely Lonely Nights”). Dr. John delivers a strong set of infectious songs drenched in good vibes and spiced with a pinch of voodoo. His eccentric (stage) appearance added unique colour to his stature as master of the ivories and entertainer pur sang.

Available as a limited edition of 1500 individually numbered copies on turquoise marbled coloured vinyl. The package includes an insert.

More Items From Dr. JohnSee all

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

Dr. John Dr. John's Gumbo
  • 1.Iko Iko
  • 2.Blow Wind Blow
  • 3.Big Chief
  • 4.Somebody Changed The Lock
  • 5.Mess Around
  • 6.Let The Good Times Roll
  • 7.Junko Partner
  • 8.Stack-A-Lee
  • 9.Tipitina
  • 10.Those Lonely Lonely Nights
  • 11.Huey Smith Medley: High Blood Pressure / Don't You Just Know It / Well I'll Be John Brown
  • 12.Little Liza Jane

Item code: MOVLP736C
Label: Music On Vinyl
Info correct on: 27/3/2020