DJ Shadow

Our Pathetic Age

Double LP

New album for 2019 from DJ Shadow. Some great guest features on here too, sure to be a modern classic!

The result of one of the prolific DJ’s most creative periods, the LP is divided into an instrumental section and another featuring vocal collaborations, tagging the likes of Run The Jewels, Nas, Dave East, Samuel T. Herring, Paul Banks, Wiki, Inspectah Deck Ghostface Killah and Raekwon to name a few. He also reunites with his early Solesides collaborators Lateef The Truthseeker and Gift of Gab (Blackalicious), along with St. Louis MCs Rockwell Knucles and Tef Poe, fellow Bay Area musicians Fantastic Negrito and Jumbo is Dr.ama, and Brooklyn MC Stro.

“More than anything, I try to get a sense of the mood of society as a whole. The subtle signals that humans send each other, the way people behave, their frustrations and ebbs and flows. In my part of the world, people are scared. There’s rampant homelessness, and a real fear of falling into generational poverty. People are addicted to, and addled by distraction; they’re angry and confused, and disaffected by their own governmental institutions,” Shadow said in a statement. “There’s songs that are inspired by this energy and seek to harness it, to make sense of it. In some cases, there’s attempts to salve the wound; in others, the songs merely observe but don’t offer solutions.  Despite the title, it’s a hopeful, vibrant album…there is always light in darkness. I want it to reflect the times we live in, a signpost in the ground to mark the era…Our Pathetic Age.”

More Items From DJ ShadowSee all

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

DJ Shadow Our Pathetic Age
  • 1.Nature Always Wins
  • 2.Slingblade
  • 3.Intersectionality
  • 4.Beauty, Power Motion, Life Work Chaos, Law
  • 5.Juggernaut
  • 6.Firestorm
  • 7.Weightless
  • 8.Rosie
  • 9.If I Die Today
  • 10.My Lonely Room
  • 11.Drone Warfare (feat. Nas, Pharaohe Monch)
  • 12.Rain On Snow (feat. Inspectah Deck, Ghostface Killah, Raekwon)
  • 13.Rocket Fuel (feat. De La Soul)
  • 14.C.O.N.F.O.R.M. (feat. Gift of Gab, Lateef The Truth Speaker, Infamous Taz)
  • 15.Small Colleges / Stay With Me (feat. Wiki, Paul Banks)
  • 16.JoJo's Words (feat. Stro)
  • 17.Kings & Queens (feat. Run the Jewels)
  • 18.Taxin' (feat. Dave East)
  • 19.Dark Side of the Heart (feat. Fantastic Negrito, Jumbo is Dr.ama)
  • 20.I Am Not A Robot (Interlude)
  • 21.Urgent, Important, Please Read (feat. Rockwell Knuckles. Tef Poe, Daemon)
  • 22.Our Pathetic Age (feat. Sam Herring)

Item code: MSAP0088
Label: Mass Appeal
Info correct on: 24/9/2019


Hip Hop