Colin Townes


Double LP stained glass red

Notify me when this item is released / available

Expected 15th January 2021

Based on a short-story by the master of horror and fantasy, author Clive Barker (Hellraiser), Rawhead Rex is set in 1980’s rural Ireland. The Demon, alive for millennia and trapped in the depths of hell, is unleashed on the sleepy local farming community. Remembered faintly through pre-Christian myth, the only one that can stop Rawhead's bloody rampage is the historian, desperately racing against the time.

This is the first ever release for the soundtrack by Colin Towns, one of Europe’s most prolific film, television and theatre composers, but also a pianist, songwriter, arranger, producer and collaborator, known for The Puppet Masters, Space Trackers, Maybe Baby, Foyle’s War, Doc Martin, Pie In The Sky.

"The first film I scored was Full Circle which starred Mia Farrow and is still in the BFI top ten for best score for horror films. I felt that film was more of a dark scary mystery. Rawhead Rex on the other hand was clearly a horror film 100%. I visited the film set in Ireland during the filming to take in the atmosphere and meet the actors after which I decided to record the music at CTS in London with a sixty piece orchestra plus electronics. I have always orchestrated my own work and had a wild time with Rawhead which is what I really love doing". Colin Towns

Colin Townes RAWHEAD REX
SILLP1606.png Pre-Order
  • 1.Rawhead Rex Main Theme
  • 2.Welcome to Ireland
  • 3.Rawhead Appears
  • 4.Nicholson's Farm
  • 5."Just you wait"
  • 6.Boy Runs For His Life Through The Wood
  • 7.Minty - "gotta pee"
  • 8.The Vicarage
  • 9.The Family is Leaving
  • 10.Gussing Opens Book
  • 11.Howard Discovers a Strange Glass Window in the Church
  • 12.Declan Goes Wild in the Church
  • 13.Howard Discovers the Power of the Stone
  • 14.Rawhead Rex End Credits
  • 15.There is a Green Hill Far Away

Item code: SILLP1606
Label: Silva Screen
Info correct on: 9/12/2020