Super Monster

LP regular
LP green/blue/split - Indies Exclusive
LP + flexi-disc green/blue/splatter Dinked Edition
0 left
Sorry - sold out

Notify me when this item is released / available

Most recently dispatched: 6 April

"Dinked Edition" is on 'green with blue splatter' coloured vinyl, includes an exclusive flexi-disc and a signed print. Numbered /500. For avoidance of doubt, the centre is a standard spindle size, and not dinked.

Indies exclusive LP is on 'half green / half blue split' coloured vinyl.

The new album from CLAUD, the first release on the new imprint label from Phoebe Bridgers, Saddest Factory.

When Claud Mintz’s mother finally heard the 13 songs on her kid’s magnetic first album, Super Monster, she asked a concerned question: Just how many people had her 21-year-old dated? From beginning to end, these sparkling pop tunes capture the assorted stages of a relationship’s delight and dejection—the giddy sensation of a first kiss during the beaming “Overnight,” the heartsick longing of a pending rejection during the yearning “Jordan,” the reluctant call for a requisite breakup during the smoldering “Ana.” Claud, though, replied that these songs detailed the phases of only two or three relationships, simply written during them or at various points after they were over.

The debut release on Phoebe Bridgers’ Saddest Factory Records, Super Monster is a vertiginous but joyous coming-of-age reckoning with such young love. Claud sees relationships as games of endless wonder, intrigue, and second-guesses, a roller-coaster thrilling you even when it’s terrifying. If “Gold” turns the tension and indecision of a bad match into an undeniable bit of lithe disco, “That’s Mr. Bitch To You” uses a spurt of righteous indignation to fuse a little soul and emo into one breathless hook. Super Monster is like a compulsive compilation that Claud culled from a lifetime of musical enthusiasms—the arcing alt-rock of ’90s airwaves, the rapturous pop of ’00s chart-toppers, the diligent genre-hopping of modern online life. Claud emerges as the chameleonic mastermind of this mélange, channeling all of love’s emotions into songs so sharp they make even the hardest times feel fun.

Perhaps you are in the throes of one of these romantic moments yourself right now, resentful of a frustrating paramour like Claud during “Pepsi” or indulging in lust like “In or In Between.” Or maybe these songs recall those wild days and tough situations. Incisive, instant, and addictive Super Monster works on either level—to remind us of love’s wild ups and downs or to help us deal with them in real time. In that way, Mom, these songs are about dating, well, everyone.

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

CLAUD Super Monster
  • 1.Overnight
  • 2.Gold
  • 3.Soft Spot
  • 4.In Or In-Between
  • 5.Cuff Your Jeans
  • 6.Ana (ft. Nick Hakim)
  • 7.Guard Down
  • 8.This Town
  • 9.Jordan
  • 10.That's Mr Bitch To You (ft. Melanie Faye)
  • 11.Pepsi
  • 12.Rocks At Your Window
  • 13.Falling With The Rain (ft. Shelly)

Item code: SAD001
Label: Saddest Factory / Dead Oceans
Info correct on: 9/3/2021