Blood Red Shoes

Ghosts On Tape

LP transparent blue

Most recently dispatched: 13 January

The new full length album from the awesome indie-punk duo Blood Red Shoes.

“We’ve always been outsiders right from the very beginning” says Steven. “This album is really about us asserting ourselves as our own little island”, he adds. “We have made an entire career out of being told what we are “not”, of being rejected, of not fitting in, and this album is us deliberately pushing into all of our strangeness, emphasising all of the things that make us different”. Obsessed by true crime and murder podcasts, many songs on the record are told in character and explore the dark psyche of those at the pinnacle of outsiderdom: serial killers. GHOSTS ON TAPE paints a picture of a dark and unsettling world. It is the sound of a unified and confident duo who know exactly who they are, even if the wider world doesn’t really get it. The sound of two people who have spent their entire adult lives making music together and who, more than ever, are finding new pathways for their creativity.

“Ultimately this album is an invitation”, explains Steven. “It’s us saying, this is our world, these are our darkest thoughts and feelings - our ghosts - caught on tape. You are welcome to join us. Come and embrace the strange”.

Blood Red Shoes at New Slang - photo by James Perou

More Items From Blood Red ShoesSee all

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

Blood Red Shoes Ghosts On Tape
  • 1.Comply
  • 2.Morbid Fascination
  • 3.Murder Me
  • 4.(I've Been Watching You)
  • 5.Give Up
  • 6.Sucker
  • 7.Begging
  • 8.(You Claim To Understand)
  • 9.I Am Not You
  • 10.Dig A Hole
  • 11.I Lose Whatever I Own
  • 12.(What Have You Been Waiting For?)
  • 13.Four Two Seven

Item code: JAZZLIFE50CD
Label: Veleten Records / Jazz Life
Info correct on: 16/1/2022