The Blanc Tapes

6 LP Boxset

London Records are releasing a limited edition vinyl boxset of Blancmange’s first three albums – Happy Families (1982), Mange Tout (1984) and Believe You Me (1985). Each release includes the original album (remastered), plus B-sides, extended versions, remixes, previously unreleased tracks and demos.

Happy Families, released in 1982, feels like a fully-formed electronic pop classic. Highlights include ‘Living On The Ceiling’ (a striking #7 hit in ’82 thanks to its mix of electronics with tabla and sitar), the melancholia of ‘Waves’, ‘Feel Me’s call-and-response electro-funk, the intense ‘I Can’t Explain’ and ‘God’s Kitchen’ which is an early example of Neil Arthur’s gift with images and wordplay.

Blancmange’s second album, Mange Tout reached # 8 in the UK charts in 1984 and spawned more hits – notably ‘Blind Vision’ (#10), ‘Don’t Tell Me’ (#8) and their fantastic cover of ABBA’s ‘The Day Before You Came’ (much loved by ABBA who let them use footage from their original video for the Blancmange promo). It signals another change for the band’s music, now increasingly built around deep, propulsive dance grooves.

The third and final Blancmange album of the 1980s, Believe You Me was released in 1985 and features bitter-sweet pop songs such as ‘Lose Your Love’, ‘Don’t You Love It All’ and ‘What’s Your Problem.’

Remastered audio.

Double vinyl albums with extra disc featuring much sought after extended, rare and demo versions (never put on vinyl).

More Items From BlancmangeSee all

Blancmange The Blanc Tapes
  • 1.I Can't Explain
  • 2.Fell Me
  • 3.I've Seen The Word
  • 4.Wasted
  • 5.Living On The Ceiling
  • 6.Waves
  • 7.Kind
  • 8.Sad Day
  • 9.Cruel
  • 10.God's Kitchen
  • 11.Sad Day (Original Version)
  • 12.Holland (Demo)
  • 13.Melodic Piece (Demo)
  • 14.I Can't Explain (Demo)
  • 15.I've Seen The Word (Demo)
  • 16.Black Bell (Demo)
  • 17.Business Steps
  • 18.Waves (Original Version â?" No Strings)
  • 19.Living On The Ceiling (Extended)
  • 20.God's Kitchen (12" Mix)
  • 21.Feel Me (Extended 12" Version)
  • 22.Don't Tell Me
  • 23.Game Above My Head
  • 24.Blind Vision
  • 25.Time Became The Tide
  • 26.That's Love, That It Is
  • 27.Murder
  • 28.See The Train
  • 29.All Things Are Nice
  • 30.My Baby
  • 31.The Day Before You Came
  • 32.Vishnu (Short Version)
  • 33.Game Above My Head (Extended)
  • 34.On Our Way To
  • 35.Don't Tell Me (Extended)
  • 36.The Day Before You Came (Extended)
  • 37.That's Love, That It Is (Extended)
  • 38.Blind Vision (Long Version)
  • 39.Lose Your Love
  • 40.What's Your Problem
  • 41.Paradise Is
  • 42.Why Don't They Leave Things Alone?
  • 43.22339
  • 44.Don't You Love It All
  • 45.Believe
  • 46.Lorraine's My Nurse
  • 47.Other Animals
  • 48.No Wonder They Never Made It Back!
  • 49.John
  • 50.Lose Your Love (Extended)
  • 51.M Diver (Alternate Dream) (Demo)
  • 52.River Of Life (Demo)
  • 53.Scream Down The House
  • 54.Side Two
  • 55.What's Your Problem? (Extended)
  • 56.I Can See It (Extended)

Cat no: LMS5521275
Label: London Records
Info correct on: 16/4/2019