Black Ark In Dub

Various Artists

2 CD

Most recently dispatched: 18 December

Black Ark In Dub is another piece of Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry’s limitless musical puzzle.

Featuring a bedrock of deep and heavy rhythms recorded at the Black Ark just before its demise, Black Ark In Dub features bass heavy spooky dub deconstructions of ‘Jah Love Is Sweeter’, ‘Ethiopia’, ‘Lion A De Winner’, ‘Open The Gate’, ‘Guideline,’ and ‘Mr Money Man’, along with an embellished dub version of Ras Keatus I ‘Dreadlocks I’ and the much sought after ‘Guidance’ a longime Jah Shaka killer exclusive to this set.

Originally released in 1981 the hard to find Black Ark In Dub remains a frozen sonic timepiece, captured at the beginning of the end of one era and poised at the start of another.

This re-mastered CD release adds Lackley Castell ‘Jah Love Is Sweeter’ (vocal cut to the opening track ‘Jah’) plus Black Ark Vol. 2 the follow up album to the acclaimed Black Ark In Dub that unsurprisingly for an Upsetter release took a different path. More vocal oriented the album features extended dubwise cuts of Caol Cole’s ‘Ethiopia’, The Originals ‘Got To Be Irie’, Junior Byles ‘Mumbling & Grumbling and The Inamans ‘How Deep Is your Love’, along with an alternate take of the Silvertones roots classic ‘Give Thanks’ with flute overdub and a couple of solid do-overs from Third World man Bunny Rugs.

Customers Who Bought This Also Picked Up…

Black Ark In Dub Various Artists
  • 1.Jah
  • 2.Cool Rockers
  • 3.Lion
  • 4.Rasta Man
  • 5.Camp
  • 6.Loving
  • 7.Money
  • 8.In The Valley
  • 9.Dreadlocks
  • 10.Guidance
  • 11.Ethiopia
  • 12.Give Praises
  • 13.How Deep Is Your Love
  • 14.Jah Love Is Sweeter
  • 15.Let Love Touch Us Now
  • 16.I Am... I Said
  • 17.Got To Be Irie
  • 18.Double Wine
  • 19.Mumbling and Grumbling

Item code: 54645270328
Label: VP / 17 North Parade
Info correct on: 5/12/2019